What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks
Fri, 04 Oct 2019
Ford has updated the Mondeo Hybrid and now does it as an estate...it needn't have bothered.
Mon, 30 Sep 2019
Mercedes-Benz has benchmarked the new GLE quite clearly against the Range Rover, for better and worse
Fri, 20 Sep 2019
Audi has updated the R8, including firming up the suspension - does it ruin the balance of one of the world's great sports cars?
Thu, 19 Sep 2019
The Toyota Corolla Touring Sports is the best value hybrid estate on the market - but that's not the only reason to think about buying one
Fri, 13 Sep 2019
The Mercedes-Benz B-Class has space to spare and a beautiful cabin...but it's not quite the sum of its parts.
Mon, 09 Sep 2019
The Hyundai Kona Electric is probably the best zero emissions runabout on sale...but it's far from runabout money
Mon, 02 Sep 2019
The new Toyota Supra is based on the BMW Z4. We know which one we'd rather have...not the German one.
Wed, 28 Aug 2019
Another week, another small crossover from Volkswagen Group. This one has a Skoda badge on the front.
Tue, 27 Aug 2019
The Toyota Camry is excellent in many ways...but there's just no spark.
Fri, 09 Aug 2019
Dan's been wafting about the place in a new BMW X7, thinking about how massive it is. Here are his thoughts...
Thu, 01 Aug 2019
Audi's first all-electric SUV is brilliant in most ways - but is it short on personality?
Mon, 29 Jul 2019
It's old but it's still very popular...the Suzuki SX4 S-Cross is Graham Norton. Watch our review.
Tue, 23 Jul 2019
The Mazda CX-30 is a crossover version of the Mazda 3, and therefore the superior family car.
Wed, 17 Jul 2019
Dan drives the Skoda Scala. He likes it, but it might be priced a little close to the brilliant Octavia...
Mon, 15 Jul 2019
The Mazda 3 is one of the best hatchbacks you can buy, but family buyers might want a little bit more...
Tue, 09 Jul 2019
Volkswagen's newest and smallest crossover is almost entirely bereft of personality - but the T-Cross is so good, that doesn't matter
Mon, 08 Jul 2019
The latest Focus ST has a lot of high quality competition and a big reputation to live up to...is it good enough?
Fri, 28 Jun 2019
The Audi Q3 is a five-star car in many ways, but there are a couple of Audi-shaped reasons not to buy one, perhaps.
Mon, 24 Jun 2019
The Alpine A110 is a truly special sports car, but it's so impractical and expensive...and French...that few will take the plunge.
Mon, 17 Jun 2019
In the 840d, BMW possibly has the most entertaining diesel car ever made...but it comes at a price.
Fri, 07 Jun 2019
The MG ZS has its good qualities, but it's difficult to see where it fits in. Watch our review...
Mon, 03 Jun 2019
There's no doubting the luxury car credentials of the latest CLS - but has it become a little too generic?
Fri, 24 May 2019
The Hyundai Kona is a pretty dull small crossover really, which is probably why Hyundai has styled the heck out of it.
Fri, 17 May 2019
The latest and quickest Renault Sport Megane is too clever for its own good.
Fri, 10 May 2019
The new Audi A1 has space, quality and plenty of standard tech...it's so very expensive, though.
Tue, 16 Apr 2019
The newest Dacia Duster once again offers amazing value...but the sacrifices are many.
Mon, 08 Apr 2019
Yes it costs almost £40,000 and it's really a SEAT, but there's a case to be made for the Cupra brand's first model...
Mon, 25 Mar 2019
The new Touareg is brilliant in many ways, but it's possible to spend an absolute fortune on one. Too much?
Mon, 18 Mar 2019
Lamborghini needs to make money, so Lamborghini has done an SUV. It's all at once very mad and very sensible.
Mon, 04 Mar 2019
The new Honda CR-V is big, comfy and enjoyable to drive - even as a hybrid.
Wed, 20 Feb 2019
Toyota has revived the Corolla name...but don't worry, this one's nowhere near as boring as you think.
Mon, 11 Feb 2019
The Renault Koleos is a decent large crossover, but it's not clear exactly where it fits in.
Sat, 02 Feb 2019
Huge, hugely powerful, hugely capable and hugely expensive, the Mercedes-Benz G-Class is all the car you'll ever need.
Sun, 20 Jan 2019
Hybrid-only and quite big, the new RAV4 is economical and easy to live with. Not remotely exciting though.
Mon, 14 Jan 2019
Mercedes-Benz's newest A-Class has possibly the best pound-for-pound car interior ever made. Watch Mark explain why.
Mon, 07 Jan 2019
The Stelvio doesn't really behave like a normal Alfa Romeo...or a normal SUV, for that matter.
Fri, 21 Dec 2018
The latest Ford Fiesta ST shows everyone else how a small hot hatch should be done.
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Watch Mark's picks of the best cars of 2018.
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Watch Mark's rundown of the cars that disappointed him most in 2018.
Tue, 18 Dec 2018
The Peugeot 508 is a French mid-level three-box family car. It should be boring as...but it's actually amazing.
Mon, 03 Dec 2018
The battery powered Hyundai Ioniq is the best pound-for-pound electric car you can buy...
Mon, 12 Nov 2018
The new Ford Focus is brilliant...assuming you make the right choices at the dealership.
Fri, 26 Oct 2018
It feels like corners were cut when Jaguar was making its first small SUV - but it's still strangely desirable
Fri, 19 Oct 2018
By most measures the Volkswagen Up! GTI is the best city car on sale today - so how come it's so disappointing?
Fri, 12 Oct 2018
The Swift Sport is still thrilling...but is it cheap enough now?
Fri, 05 Oct 2018
Volkswagen's latest camper van is very expensive, but totally worth it.
Mon, 24 Sep 2018
The new Suzuki Jimny is very flawed as a daily runabout, but you'll probably still yearn for one. It's ace.
Fri, 14 Sep 2018
The latest Compass is much, much better than the last one...but that's not saying much
Mon, 10 Sep 2018
The BMW X2 could have been an overpriced, less practical X1, but it's surprisingly good. Watch our review.
Fri, 31 Aug 2018
Hyundai's first proper hot hatch is amazing...maybe a little too hardcore?
Mon, 20 Aug 2018
Yet again, Volvo has made an SUV shaped car that's excels in every way, and is a proper alternative to the default German stuff.
Tue, 14 Aug 2018
The R8 RWS is rear-wheel drive, limited edition and the entry point into Audi's supercar-chasing coupe range. It's brilliant.
Sat, 04 Aug 2018
No surprise that Volvo has made another good estate - the surprise is just how good it is.
Fri, 27 Jul 2018
The 'one Ford' plan has given Europe the Edge. It's fine...but that's not quite good enough, sadly.
Fri, 13 Jul 2018
The original crossover has dropped down the pecking order a bit. Does the facelift pull it back to the top?
Mon, 09 Jul 2018
The GT R might not be the most powerful AMG model ever, but it's the nearest thing to a race car for the road.
Fri, 29 Jun 2018
The first Nissan Leaf revolutionised electric cars - here's the difficult follow up.
Thu, 21 Jun 2018
Audi's flagship SUV feels strangely small...and strangely handsome. Does it justify its massive price tag?
Thu, 07 Jun 2018
The HR-V sort of sits between the compact and family crossover sets, but whatever it is, it's very good.
Fri, 01 Jun 2018
Audi's big posh five-door hatchback coupé thing is very lovely, but it's also a bit confused...
Tue, 29 May 2018
It's lost two cylinders - controversially, obviously - but the latest Boxster is better to drive than ever.
Tue, 22 May 2018
The T-Roc is either Volkswagen's expensive compact crossover or it's cheap family one, depending on your view.
Mon, 30 Apr 2018
The Mazda 3 is phenomenal fun to drive but ordinary in every other way.
Mon, 16 Apr 2018
The Discovery is probably the most complete car in the world...but that backside.
Fri, 06 Apr 2018
No M5 has worn the 'four-door supercar' handle quite as convincingly as this.
Wed, 04 Apr 2018
We're doing instructional videos again. Here's the first of many. The title says it all, really.
Mon, 26 Mar 2018
The C3 Aircross might be a bit spongy to drive, and look weird, and cost quite a lot, but it's still worth a look...
Mon, 19 Mar 2018
Here's Mark to tell you why most of the BIG MINI range is good...apart from the hybrid one, possibly
Wed, 14 Mar 2018
The Karoq improves on almost everything about the Skoda Yeti - yet it's less appealing in one very important way
Mon, 26 Feb 2018
One of the quickest and most sophisticated cars ever made - so why does the NSX feel so ordinary?
Mon, 19 Feb 2018
Ever wondered how to change the battery in your car? Well, it's your lucky day.
Thu, 15 Feb 2018
Like the bigger Ateca, the SEAT Arona crossover might well be the best all rounder in its class
Mon, 12 Feb 2018
This big Volkswagen hatchback is made for the taxi ranks, seemingly, except that it's bewilderingly interesting
Mon, 29 Jan 2018
The drop-top Huracan is as outlandish as sports cars come - but is it worth the huge premium over the (better) Audi R8?
Wed, 17 Jan 2018
Kia builds one the things that made the last Picanto so above average and makes, possibly, the world's best runabout
Sun, 31 Dec 2017
Yes, it's another 4x4 type thing, but the GLC is one of the best - luxurious, comfy and good to drive.
Fri, 22 Dec 2017
The Vauxhall Astra would sell in droves regardless, so discovering it's actually good is a lovely surprise
Wed, 20 Dec 2017
Here's our second 'how to in two'. Check it out to find out more about tyre pressure.
Tue, 19 Dec 2017
The XC60 is comfortably the most luxurious mid-sized SUV you can buy - and might even be 2017's best car.
Fri, 08 Dec 2017
Think you're never distracted behind the wheel? Think again. This week's video explains all.
Mon, 04 Dec 2017
A small power increase for SEAT's flagship hot hatch tips it over the edge. Shame, because it's almost great.
Fri, 24 Nov 2017
It looks like a supercar and drives like a Prius. Quite a vexing combination.
Fri, 10 Nov 2017
The Korando holds the distinction of being a non-ugly SsangYong, but there's a bit more to it than that. A bit.
Sat, 04 Nov 2017
SEAT has thrown everything at making the Ibiza the best small hatch you can buy - but will that be enough to make you buy one?
Sun, 29 Oct 2017
Apparently there's a gap between the Range Rovers Evoque and Sport. The Velar fills it - and in style
Mon, 23 Oct 2017
The Vauxhall Corsa is everywhere. Good job it's good, then.
Fri, 13 Oct 2017
Mark looks at the rear-engined Forfour, a city car that might be too clever for its own good
Thu, 05 Oct 2017
The Fiat 124 Spider could well be a modern classic, except for a very small problem. Quite literally.
Sat, 30 Sep 2017
Mark gawks at the stunning new Micra, but does the driving experience match the looks?
Fri, 22 Sep 2017
The Hyundai i30 is all the family hatchback you could want - but it's still not enough. Watch to find out why.
Fri, 08 Sep 2017
The Citroen C3 has more quirks than you can shake a fidget spinner at, but is it all style and no substance?
Tue, 05 Sep 2017
The new Polo is everything you expect a small Volkswagen to be - plus a bit of personality thrown in. Yikes.
Fri, 25 Aug 2017
The Suzuki Ignis is a super little crossover...if you can cope with looking at it.
Fri, 18 Aug 2017
Volkswagen has made a zero-emissions battery powered Golf, and done a predictably Zen-like job
Sun, 13 Aug 2017
Peugeot's radically different new 3008 exists in the fiercely competitive crossover segment...it's accordingly brilliant
Sun, 06 Aug 2017
Honda's new Civic looks fairly outrageous, but underneath lies something altogether more sensible
Sat, 29 Jul 2017
When Bentley makes an SUV, it makes the most expensive, most powerful one in the world. But the best...?
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car