Volkswagen Golf (2009 - 2013)

2
reviewed by Gary Lindley on 26 July 2019
5
reviewed by Pab D on 28 June 2019
1
reviewed by Paul Alllum on 8 April 2019
5
reviewed by Andrew Khaleeli on 23 February 2019
5
reviewed by Roger Potts on 15 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 2 July 2018
5
reviewed by SV on 27 May 2018
2
reviewed by ah207 on 10 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Neil K on 21 February 2018
3
reviewed by Atommo75 on 2 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ben's Golf on 15 August 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 August 2017
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 April 2017
4
reviewed by halloranan on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by Petemc1960 on 10 February 2016
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 October 2015
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 August 2015
5
reviewed by SomerHimpson60 on 22 August 2015
3

Match 1.6 TDI 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by ah207 on 2 July 2015
3
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Beware repair costs!

The Golf was purchased just one year from new - but had already clocked up 48000 KM (been used as a company car). However, my own use is typically only 15000 km per year - mainly motorways. For the past 4 years, the car has been superb. Not a single reliability issue or other breakdown. I have travelled with 4 adults + luggage - and the car just takes it in its stride. Take note though - this is NOT a souped-up "sports car" - its a vehicle for transporting people - and this it has done admirably. Love the quality interior. There are no unnecessary luxuries or gimmicks per se - you only what you need. Very Teutonic. And I like that no-nonsense approach.

As other owners have pointed out - the one tiny (but still annoying) feature is that when you set the fan to blow cold air, bizarrely, the A/C comes on automatically. so you HAVE to turn this off if you just want the fan air.

Other than that - at the 5 year mark, the car is not showing any signs of wear or stress. We have performed one routine service and had one additional oil filter/oil change. Fuel economy is pretty good - and for motorway driving, if you engage cruise control, efficiency improves even more.

If you're not into racing, or rally driving on public roads - but just want a car to be a car (instead of a mobile disco, or a jet fighter) & if you value reliability in summer or winter - I can recommend this one.

ADDENDUM: Looks like I was praising the machine too early! On a recent motorway trip, the car broke down - it entered the safety mode and shut off - with the engine maintenance warning lights showing. It had to be towed to a local garage. A full diagnostic showed that ALL FOUR fuel injectors were finished! Its not possible to clean, or repair these. They cost 400 pounds EACH. So 4 of these, plus a new fuel filter, plus labour left me with a wapping 2250 pound bill! And I'm told this is a common failure, as its EGR valve (1000 pounds). So....just be aware.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by spin0304 on 28 April 2015
1
reviewed by AnonML on 19 April 2015
1
reviewed by RJ2DJ on 7 April 2015
5
reviewed by spoons33 on 22 October 2014
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 27 September 2014
5
reviewed by perkscan on 28 August 2014
3
reviewed by bakeart on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by gbhall on 17 July 2014
1
reviewed by johnt71 on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by fatboyfat on 9 May 2014
3
reviewed by bobhaynes on 2 May 2014
4
reviewed by johnt71 on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by hillwalker on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by citnut3 on 8 March 2014
1
reviewed by Biscayne on 3 March 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2014
5
reviewed by armchair on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Caution on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by whizzwheels on 26 December 2013
4
reviewed by Bathmark on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by g2gsoon on 4 November 2013
2
reviewed by Alteseehund on 29 October 2013
5
reviewed by Wilson78 on 26 October 2013
4
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
5
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 15 March 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 January 2013
3
reviewed by greendg7 on 7 September 2012
3
reviewed by sad_tsi_owner on 24 August 2012
2
reviewed by JVG on 14 July 2011
1
reviewed by Neverbuybluemotion on 2 June 2011
5
reviewed by chiark on 15 June 2010
5
reviewed by Car enthusiast on 22 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,880–£33,710
Road TaxA–J
MPG33.2–74.3 mpg
Real MPG87.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by R forbes
3
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by MATTHEW MARLOW
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car