Vauxhall Vectra (2002 - 2008)

5
reviewed by Steve McDermott on 1 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 January 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 September 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
4
reviewed by Craig Godwin on 28 May 2018
5
reviewed by farmideas on 4 April 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 February 2018
5
reviewed by davidj on 2 August 2017
4
reviewed by John Hinchliffe on 2 August 2017
5
reviewed by Ilikeelectriccars on 7 June 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 January 2015
5
reviewed by squij on 28 November 2014
4
reviewed by Badger1986 on 28 November 2014
5
reviewed by davidj on 28 August 2014
4

2.2 Direct Elite HB

reviewed by Captains3 on 14 February 2014
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

A VFM car to buy and own

I have owned the car for 10 months and completed 20K, having paid £2,400 at 100K. Recently flew through MOT. Used for a mixture of long and short drives.

This car is known for fuel pump and chain issues as well as having a vulnerable air conditioning condenser at the front. This car has suffered all of these but fortunately they have been dealt with buy the previous owner and dealer. For me it has been 20k of near faultless driving so I have scored highly based my own period of ownership but if you are buying my advice is to check for these issues and ensure you know the SOG act. Also there are still many VFM examples about but don't pay too much.

Good - Smooth drive and acceleration, feels solid and safe, great gear box, fairly easy to self service (use a good oil), comfortable, well equipped, loads of space in the cabin and boot easily accommodating 4 adults plus luggage on the way to uni, cheapish and plentiful parts, reasonable insurance.

Bad - Interior is quite bland and plasticy, can be juicy on the MPG if flogged or used for short journeys, high tax, poor image (if that's what you want), variable Vauxhall dealer service standards, can be noisy and clunking on the road, the leather seats do not suit everyone's posture.

I like this car it has given me VFM motoring and I look at the running costs in terms of what I save in depreciation compared to buying newer models. Servicing the car at home is good for getting to know the car and anticipating problems which will keep down the running costs. I owned a 07 BMW 318 series before this and this is a far better drive with much lower running costs.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by dave dl on 31 January 2014
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by barchettaman on 22 August 2013
2
reviewed by WilliamLX on 9 January 2013
5
reviewed by Veccy on 29 October 2012
1
reviewed by Tech-Lee on 5 September 2012
4
reviewed by Dekkers42 on 22 May 2011
4
reviewed by Andrew_C on 10 May 2011
4
reviewed by Norb on 2 March 2011
4
reviewed by saxon1056 on 31 December 2010
3
reviewed by Andy 94 on 12 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£15,920–£27,500
Road TaxG–L
MPG26.9–49.6 mpg
Real MPG95.2%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
2
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car