Insurance and NCB - blame disputed - GJD
Hello all

Recently another driver hit me a glancing blow as she emerged from a side road. I have a dent but she says the cars never touched, so our insurance companies have two different stories.

My insurance company now says that to progress matters I need to get the damage repaired so they know the cost they are trying to recover (I am fully comp covered). I'm reluctant because if I do that and don't win the argument (or it goes 50/50), I lose my NCB.

My question is this: Is it normal to have to know the precise cost of the damage before being able to determine who is responsible? Seems to me that those are two completely independent questions, but I'm no expert in the field.

If I have no other option, I'll keep the dent and keep my NCB. If anyone has experience or knowledge about this sort of thing, I'd be interested to hear it.

Thanks
Gavin Deane
Insurance and NCB - blame disputed - Happy Blue!
Gavin,

I am not expert, but would have thought that if you were prepared not to have the dent repaired immediately, then you could simply sue the other party directly.

You should be able to find a no win no fee lawyer who will take this on, or you could go to the Small Claims Court yourself. All you would need would be an estimate of the cost to repair the damage and a Statement of Truth.
--
Espada III - well if you have a family and need a Lamborghini, what else do you drive?
Insurance and NCB - blame disputed - Greg R
Also, approach the Financial Ombudsman if you are unhappy with their decision. They can help you if necessary.
Insurance and NCB - blame disputed - Ex-Moderator
but she says the cars never touched

Any witnesses ? Did she stop at the time ? If there was no collision, why did she stop at the time ? If she did not stop, then has she said anything at anytime different to the story she's given her insurer ?
My insurance company now says that to progress matters I need