Volkswagen Golf (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 April 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 November 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 November 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2020
1
reviewed by Louisa Houghton on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 July 2020
1
reviewed by Kishor on 19 March 2020
4
reviewed by Richard M. on 13 March 2020
4

1.6 TDI 115ps Match DSG7 5dr

reviewed by Anonymous on 25 January 2020
4
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Generally good but some annoyances

Owning this car for more than four years and 50k miles must say there's nothing too much wrong with it but there are some areas where it could be much better.

Firstly, reliability has been good with only one ABS sensor fail during my ownership.

Next, ride, handling and performance have been up to my expectations. I did think of changing it for a similar spec Volvo V40 diesel but found the ride and refinement was not as good as the Golf. Perormance is obviously nothing special but it is good enough for most overtaking and economy has been very good for an automatic.

Another good point is the cabin and load space, I have moved quantitites of Ikea flatpack and a double bed size futon using this car.

Where it falls down for me is in two areas:-

1) In spite of having adaptive cruise, automatic wipers and lights, front and rear parking sensors and other high spec kit it has no climate control, just push on/push off aircon which I am always having to fiddle with to get the right temperature. Also the ventilation system generally seems poor, taking ages to clear mist from the windscreen. My 57 plate BMW 1 series was much better.

2) The seats were designed by Torquemada, having two flat hard surfaces and a headrest that stops you putting your back against the seat without contorting your neck. The Match spec gives you lumbar support adjustment but the range of variation is from none to unnoticeable. In addition raising the seat base to get your hips closer to the level of your knees as recommended by physiotherapists results in the seat moving forward - why? It makes that adjustment useless for a tall driver. As VW and Porsche have been together for years and my 1990s Porsche 968 had comfortable seats with sensible adjustments I fail to understand why a 2010s VW cannot provide a seat that does not get you squirming on any but the shortest journeys. Having injured my back I've recently been looking around for a replacement and a high spec Qashqai or Mitsubishi ASX has seats that are light years ahead of the Golf.

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2019
4
reviewed by eddie nichols on 9 April 2019
5
reviewed by Simon Heape on 1 April 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 March 2019
5
reviewed by Mike Gidley on 12 February 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 February 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by djcanderson on 29 August 2018
5
reviewed by John Heenan on 10 August 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2018
1
reviewed by Clive Ewens on 28 June 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 January 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 December 2017
4
reviewed by Croftsy on 13 December 2017
5
reviewed by Don1988 on 9 December 2017
5
reviewed by Squingo on 23 February 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 September 2016
5
reviewed by belfast car on 30 July 2016
5
reviewed by Marshy350 on 25 December 2015
4
reviewed by Boysailor on 18 October 2015
4
reviewed by formerrep on 21 May 2015
5
reviewed by marko2 on 3 May 2015
5
reviewed by cap boiler on 24 March 2015
5
reviewed by Vic48 on 16 January 2015
5
reviewed by Adam K on 20 November 2014
4
reviewed by Victor Cape Town on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by angelcyn on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2014
5
reviewed by rickenbacker_al on 4 May 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by thebamster on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by JJB70 on 20 April 2014
4
reviewed by growlingbear on 30 March 2014
1
reviewed by Organic on 23 February 2014
5
reviewed by Battle Axe on 21 January 2014
5
reviewed by CHARB on 31 December 2013
4
reviewed by lynna on 5 December 2013
4
reviewed by portpatrick on 28 February 2013
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 February 2013
5
reviewed by Pommyboi on 30 January 2013
4
reviewed by finnmcmissile on 20 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,625–£29,985
Road TaxA–D
MPG52.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG78.1%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Bernard Page
2
submitted by Pete Loxham
 

Value my car