Volkswagen Golf (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 April 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 November 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 November 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2020
1
reviewed by Louisa Houghton on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 July 2020
1
reviewed by Kishor on 19 March 2020
4
reviewed by Richard M. on 13 March 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 January 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2019
4

1.4 TSI 125ps 6speed Match Edition 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by eddie nichols on 9 April 2019
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

VW quality and Golf familiarity....

Just into my second week of ownership. Sold my wonderful MK V Golf GT140 2.0TDi due to the incoming ULEZ. 11 years old and just 96k miles on the clock, the car was solid, well maintained and a joy to own and drive.....and it was a mighty motorway car.
My fear was that the MK VII 1.4 petrol would feel like a downgrade. At 125 HP it isn't too far behind the diesel but this is not comparing apples with apples as we all know.
I bought the Mk VII some 120 miles away from my home and so had a good chance to test it's performance credentials on the drive back. Being 2 generations newer than the MK V, the tech was more advanced and a very welcome addition. ACC, parking assist, hill hold assist, electric handbrake, touchscreen composition media, cornering lights, electric folding door mirrors and much more to enhance and distract.
The MK VII is a great looking car with sharp lines on the bodywork, new front/back light clusters, longer wheelbase, a high quality interior and unmistakably still a Golf.
The interior is apparently longer and wider and the roof is noticeably a bit lower than the MK V. It's also much quieter in the cabin than the V. The hatchback door is oddly heavier to lift than the MK V and the boot has an adjustable floor to give easier access or more room depending on your needs.
The driving position and general feel of the car was instantly familiar to my old one and this made it easy to just get in and drive. Performance in ECO was smooth & quiet but not exactly thrilling. Acceleration was sure and steady and the MPG in this mode got me to about 59 over the whole journey. Put the car in SPORT mode and there is a noticeable but not earth shattering boost to the acceleration but this is no GT Sport.
MPG in town and on my short commute on the A406 is getting me an average of 44.6 in ECO with a very frugal driving style. I imagine that when i start driving normally this could fall below 40 mpg.
The car is a joy to be in, even in traffic and whilst i am missing the performance, power and better mpg of the diesel, this car is not a complete compromise for me. It's still the car by which all others in it's class will be judged.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Simon Heape on 1 April 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 March 2019
5
reviewed by Mike Gidley on 12 February 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 February 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by djcanderson on 29 August 2018
5
reviewed by John Heenan on 10 August 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2018
1
reviewed by Clive Ewens on 28 June 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 January 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 December 2017
4
reviewed by Croftsy on 13 December 2017
5
reviewed by Don1988 on 9 December 2017
5
reviewed by Squingo on 23 February 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 September 2016
5
reviewed by belfast car on 30 July 2016
5
reviewed by Marshy350 on 25 December 2015
4
reviewed by Boysailor on 18 October 2015
4
reviewed by formerrep on 21 May 2015
5
reviewed by marko2 on 3 May 2015
5
reviewed by cap boiler on 24 March 2015
5
reviewed by Vic48 on 16 January 2015
5
reviewed by Adam K on 20 November 2014
4
reviewed by Victor Cape Town on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by angelcyn on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2014
5
reviewed by rickenbacker_al on 4 May 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by thebamster on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by JJB70 on 20 April 2014
4
reviewed by growlingbear on 30 March 2014
1
reviewed by Organic on 23 February 2014
5
reviewed by Battle Axe on 21 January 2014
5
reviewed by CHARB on 31 December 2013
4
reviewed by lynna on 5 December 2013
4
reviewed by portpatrick on 28 February 2013
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 February 2013
5
reviewed by Pommyboi on 30 January 2013
4
reviewed by finnmcmissile on 20 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,625–£29,985
Road TaxA–D
MPG52.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG78.1%

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by Bernard Page
2
submitted by Pete Loxham
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car