Volkswagen Golf (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 April 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 November 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 November 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2020
1
reviewed by Louisa Houghton on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 July 2020
1
reviewed by Kishor on 19 March 2020
4
reviewed by Richard M. on 13 March 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 January 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2019
4
reviewed by eddie nichols on 9 April 2019
5
reviewed by Simon Heape on 1 April 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 March 2019
5
reviewed by Mike Gidley on 12 February 2019
3

GOLF Edition 1.6 TDI 85kW 115CV 5speed

reviewed by Anonymous on 6 February 2019
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
How practical it is
4
Overall reliability

Over hyped

I rented this 2017 model whist holidaying in Spain. I had it for a week, so go to know it well.

It had 27k on the clock. The car was very easy to drive. The seats were comfortable. It was fairly comfortable on the roads. Visibility from the car was good.

I keep hearing about how good the VW Golf is. It was my first ever experience of driving a Golf but I must admit I was disappointed and it has been over-hyped. The car is n't anything special. It is n't a terrible car, but neither is it excellent.

When we got to the rental desk, I got a free upgrade to the VW Golf. However, I could only get one suitcase in the boot. I did not make a fuss, as I the VW Golf was free upgrade!. We had to put the seats down to accommodate the two suitcases and two hand carry.

The small boot, became an issue on the last day of our holiday, when we had to check out of the hotel at 12pm and our flight was at 9pm. We could not leave the luggage in the car boot with the seats down, as that would invite thieves. We had no option but to return to the hotel to collect our luggage. It was inconvenient and restricted what we could do on the last day, as we had to return to the hotel to pick the luggage and then go to the airport. The previous year we rented a BMW 1 series and managed to get the same suitcases in without any problems (two suitcases and two hand carry luggage).

For a 1.6 diesel engine, the Golf did n't have any kick. It was n't fun to drive on Spanish mountain roads. I was expecting a bit of a thrill, but it did not give me that. Nor did I like the road handling. The BMW 1 series was much 'poised' on such roads, as it did not throw me left to right went corning and it too did not give me a thrill either. The Golf is a good motorway cruiser, but not to great on the bumpy roads. The first gear is ever so jerky.

The VW Golf, is a good car, but I would not want to own one. The radio was good, but not outstanding. The car had a touchscreen panel navigation and radio, but it required the use of the phone for navigation. It would be better to get a VW edition with in built navigation, but on the model I got, I had to connect my smartphone with a USB cable. I had to install Android Auto app. On occasions, the car would loose connection with my phone and I would loose Google Map navigation. It required buttons to be pressed to re-establish communication. Causing me frustration, as I needed the navigation on complicated roads and roundabouts. I took wrong turns, because I could not stop on busy roads to re-establish connection whilst driving, I suspect it was my cable. The position of the screen is also too low for navigation. It makes for dangerous driving, as you have to look down. It would have been better if the screen was higher at eye level, so you can see the screen and road quickly, so as to reduce eye movement. However, if I owned this car, I would not want to connect my phone to the car. The USB connection, which should have charged my phone's battery, was infact loosing battery power, as it was using my phone for other things.

The car door lock (for all doors) is on driver's side, rather then in the centre. So if I leave the car and pop-in the shops, I can't get my partner to lock the door so she remain's safe.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by djcanderson on 29 August 2018
5
reviewed by John Heenan on 10 August 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2018
1
reviewed by Clive Ewens on 28 June 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 January 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 December 2017
4
reviewed by Croftsy on 13 December 2017
5
reviewed by Don1988 on 9 December 2017
5
reviewed by Squingo on 23 February 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 September 2016
5
reviewed by belfast car on 30 July 2016
5
reviewed by Marshy350 on 25 December 2015
4
reviewed by Boysailor on 18 October 2015
4
reviewed by formerrep on 21 May 2015
5
reviewed by marko2 on 3 May 2015
5
reviewed by cap boiler on 24 March 2015
5
reviewed by Vic48 on 16 January 2015
5
reviewed by Adam K on 20 November 2014
4
reviewed by Victor Cape Town on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by angelcyn on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2014
5
reviewed by rickenbacker_al on 4 May 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by thebamster on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by JJB70 on 20 April 2014
4
reviewed by growlingbear on 30 March 2014
1
reviewed by Organic on 23 February 2014
5
reviewed by Battle Axe on 21 January 2014
5
reviewed by CHARB on 31 December 2013
4
reviewed by lynna on 5 December 2013
4
reviewed by portpatrick on 28 February 2013
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 February 2013
5
reviewed by Pommyboi on 30 January 2013
4
reviewed by finnmcmissile on 20 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,625–£29,985
Road TaxA–D
MPG52.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG78.1%

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by Bernard Page
2
submitted by Pete Loxham
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car