Volkswagen Golf (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 April 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 November 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 November 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2020
1
reviewed by Louisa Houghton on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 July 2020
1
reviewed by Kishor on 19 March 2020
4
reviewed by Richard M. on 13 March 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 January 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2019
4
reviewed by eddie nichols on 9 April 2019
5
reviewed by Simon Heape on 1 April 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 March 2019
5
reviewed by Mike Gidley on 12 February 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 February 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by djcanderson on 29 August 2018
5
reviewed by John Heenan on 10 August 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2018
1
reviewed by Clive Ewens on 28 June 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 January 2018
3

2.0 TDI Match Edition DSG

reviewed by Anonymous on 14 December 2017
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
2
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Its a Golf.. So What?

If you remember the ads of a few years ago basically saying the Golf was the benchmark car based on what its door slam sounded like, how it rode, handled etc then this will make complete sense if not just read the last sentence (and IMHO look elsewhere for a better product).
After having several Volvo's Mercs, BMWs and the odd Vauxhall and Ford in the last 10 years I decided to buy this car based on an apparently good PCP deal (I usually buy on PCP or company car). VW are very pushy to sell extras like GAP, Tyre, wheel, scratch insurance, GARDX to name but a few. I only bought the tyre insurance from Inchcape VW - see later
Delivery the vehicle wasnt fully clean on delivery with the suction marks for the windscreen still visible from manufacture!! They cleaned it again but they were still there....Car ran well for about 2,000 miles then niggles with the USB reader, media unit requiring it to be fixed but took the dealer 3 visits to convince him it was faulty, new media unit and a software update.Then at about 6k it went in for a puncture - new tyre great (tyre insurance) software update applied. Then endless problems with the parking sensors and stop start which sometimes stops and starts every 2 or 3 seconds or so starting about May 2017. the fronts wanted to go off randomly when there was nothing there. The rears sometimes didnt work. It went back in no fault found - it went in again and again no fault. along with creaking of the rear suspension but it was deemed to be 'normal'. Then the rears failed again and I damaged the rear bumper on a concrete post (new bumper required - £600) They denied all knowledge of a link between the software update and the sensors. Back in for a failed USB reader which decides from day to day whatson the stick. Another software update. USB reader still faulty. But now October 2017 onwards car has stalled in traffic and at junctions (its a DSG!!!) VW say it cant stall in gear it does - say im waiting at a junction to turn right the car goes into stop mode in DRIVE then i press the accelerator to restart the car and I turn the wheel it attempts a start then stalls - asks me to start the car manually as you sail across a junction with no brakes or power steering or power. To start the car again its brake to a stop, put into park turn the key to off then back on again then back in drive to pull away (not safe in the middle of a junction). Its been in again for this.
After video evidence by my wife witnessing of these issues as I drove VW no cant refute the evidence they have after two letters sent t the dealer they now have my car for over a week but cant recreate the DSG stop start issue but have found a faulty parking sensor (I personally think its the control module for the parking sensors as the whole front of the car senses an object in error - but time will tell).
Then I find the tyre insurance is not worth it (for 16" tyres at least) as VW charge £250 for 3 years cover or 5 tyres which have to be changed at the dealer (unless you have a really good reason) and they fit Hankooks which are awful. If you fit the Hankooks from online source you can buy 5 tyres fitted for £245 meaning you can never make it pay!!! The Hankooks wore on the front in 8k miles and spin in wet weather for fun. So i fitted Michelin cross climate which are not manufacturer fit so arent covered by the tyre insurance even though they are twice the price Had to have 4 wheel laser alignment at 8k miles due to possible poor setup at the factory as 3 of the 4 wheels were way out.
Mielage is average getting about 44mpg whereas my 3 series ED gave me 62mpg average. Its not that roomy, not that comfy, ergonomics on steering wheel, media unit, usb reader etc are poor and CD unit in the glovebox - really???
So I still have a car that might stall making it dangerous, creaks from rear suspension occasionally, USB reader works properly when it feels like it, but the parking sensors might be fixed
All in all a pretty poor show for VW as a brand, the dealer and not least the Golf. IMHO spend more buy a volvo, BMW, Merc or something Japanese. Or save your cash and buy something cheaper. I cant wait to ditch this car but its 6k in negative equity at 14 months old with a 6k discount and 1k deposit. Doesn't that tell you something!!!!

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Croftsy on 13 December 2017
5
reviewed by Don1988 on 9 December 2017
5
reviewed by Squingo on 23 February 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 September 2016
5
reviewed by belfast car on 30 July 2016
5
reviewed by Marshy350 on 25 December 2015
4
reviewed by Boysailor on 18 October 2015
4
reviewed by formerrep on 21 May 2015
5
reviewed by marko2 on 3 May 2015
5
reviewed by cap boiler on 24 March 2015
5
reviewed by Vic48 on 16 January 2015
5
reviewed by Adam K on 20 November 2014
4
reviewed by Victor Cape Town on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by angelcyn on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2014
5
reviewed by rickenbacker_al on 4 May 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by thebamster on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by JJB70 on 20 April 2014
4
reviewed by growlingbear on 30 March 2014
1
reviewed by Organic on 23 February 2014
5
reviewed by Battle Axe on 21 January 2014
5
reviewed by CHARB on 31 December 2013
4
reviewed by lynna on 5 December 2013
4
reviewed by portpatrick on 28 February 2013
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 February 2013
5
reviewed by Pommyboi on 30 January 2013
4
reviewed by finnmcmissile on 20 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,625–£29,985
Road TaxA–D
MPG52.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG78.1%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Bernard Page
2
submitted by Pete Loxham
 

Value my car