Volkswagen Golf (2013 - 2020)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 April 2021
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 April 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 March 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 December 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 November 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 November 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 September 2020
1
reviewed by Louisa Houghton on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 September 2020
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 August 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 July 2020
1
reviewed by Kishor on 19 March 2020
4
reviewed by Richard M. on 13 March 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 January 2020
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 September 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2019
4
reviewed by eddie nichols on 9 April 2019
5
reviewed by Simon Heape on 1 April 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 March 2019
5
reviewed by Mike Gidley on 12 February 2019
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 February 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 12 October 2018
4
reviewed by djcanderson on 29 August 2018
5
reviewed by John Heenan on 10 August 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 July 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2018
1
reviewed by Clive Ewens on 28 June 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 January 2018
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 December 2017
4
reviewed by Croftsy on 13 December 2017
5
reviewed by Don1988 on 9 December 2017
5
reviewed by Squingo on 23 February 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 February 2017
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 September 2016
5
reviewed by belfast car on 30 July 2016
5

Golf VII 5DR GTD Manual

reviewed by Marshy350 on 25 December 2015
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Brilliant car swaps it hat from motorway cruiser to B Road slayer I love it!

Our choice of cars was between the Audi A3 S line 2.0 Tdi, Seat Leon FR 2.0 Tdi and the GTD after much head scratching and test drives we both wanted the golf.

After securing a great deal on Carwow, 12 weeks later we picked up our car and drove it back home. Its now 6 weeks later and 4300 miles on the clock so here are our thoughts so far, actually more mine....

Its maybe spending my life dreaming of Golf GTI's that may have influenced our decision but I am not dissapointed in fact that our high miles meant the petrol GTI was simply out of the question.

This diesel engine is smooth and quiet on one hand yet free revving and lively which is not quite what you expect from a diesel engine. It will pull hard to the red line if needed but more importantly build speed from low revs with very little hint of lag which affected my previous Leon 2.0 tdi FR. Overall I cannot fault the engine. Economy so far 57mpg at 70 mph (constant cruising), 50 mpg mixed every day and from new its life avg. is 53.4 mpg (95% of these miles the car is in eco mode).

Handling, If I am going to talk about this then I need to say what I have driven before so you know where I am coming from (performance cars only) Honda Crx, Civic Type R, Polo Gti 1.4 tsi, Mr2, 206 gti and Leon Fr tdi. With the heavier Diesel up front it was never going to be straight comparison to the GTI although I feel its pretty damn close and you would have to push both cars to the point you could end up in court or a tree to find any short cummings compared to the GTI! This GTD is very good, not very good for a diesel but very good full stop. In all weather's it inspires confidence the ride is firm yet compliant enough to cover huge distances, for me the perfect compromise.

The interior is of very high quality with alot of little nice touches although the fabric seat colours have had to grow on us they are very comfortable and supportive. The lay out is perfect for all controls altough we are still getting use to the sat Nav's quirks (route options) everything else is as expected or above. I do personally like Vw's interiors buts that's my personal taste and probably why we have the GTD.

Looks, For me the GTD was the best looking of the bunch we chose Tornado Red and I,m still smiling every time I look at it. The wheels are particularly attractive the std 18" tires are very grippy in all conditions and very quiet at motorway speeds.

Whilst we were in the market looking for a new car VW upped the spec of the GTD and included Sat Nav, Winter Pack and Key less entry a total of £1700 free of charge these are now included on the GTD and quite rightly so for this type of money!

General niggles- The boot is smaller than I expected compared to my last Mk5 golf, Fuel tank is slightly smaller, GTI seats get a red contrast, GTE gets a very nice blue line the GTD gets grey....erm....they have grown on us and that is my biggest gripe so as you can see its not much really.

Problems- None......updated at 24/12/15, 5700 miles.

Overall- we chose the perfect car for us yes I know the Leon is cheaper but I preferred the looks of the golf and it's interior. I was put off by Audi's lack of std equipment and dealer experience (3 separate dealers). All the VW and seat dealers we attended were all friendly and polite. I have based my manufacturer score on the vehicle and its supply and not included the emission's debacle. The GTD is Euro 6 cat and is not included in the recall.

The GTD is a brilliant car and we wouldn't change it.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Boysailor on 18 October 2015
4
reviewed by formerrep on 21 May 2015
5
reviewed by marko2 on 3 May 2015
5
reviewed by cap boiler on 24 March 2015
5
reviewed by Vic48 on 16 January 2015
5
reviewed by Adam K on 20 November 2014
4
reviewed by Victor Cape Town on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by angelcyn on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 July 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 June 2014
5
reviewed by rickenbacker_al on 4 May 2014
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by thebamster on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by JJB70 on 20 April 2014
4
reviewed by growlingbear on 30 March 2014
1
reviewed by Organic on 23 February 2014
5
reviewed by Battle Axe on 21 January 2014
5
reviewed by CHARB on 31 December 2013
4
reviewed by lynna on 5 December 2013
4
reviewed by portpatrick on 28 February 2013
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 4 February 2013
5
reviewed by Pommyboi on 30 January 2013
4
reviewed by finnmcmissile on 20 January 2013

Write your review

About this car

Price£17,625–£29,985
Road TaxA–D
MPG52.3–83.1 mpg
Real MPG78.1%

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by Bernard Page
2
submitted by Pete Loxham
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car