Volkswagen Golf (2009 - 2013)

2
reviewed by Gary Lindley on 26 July 2019
5
reviewed by Pab D on 28 June 2019
1
reviewed by Paul Alllum on 8 April 2019
5
reviewed by Andrew Khaleeli on 23 February 2019
5
reviewed by Roger Potts on 15 July 2018
5

SE 1.6 TDI 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 2 July 2018
5
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

As you would expect from Volkswagen

I am reviewing this Golf on behalf of my Father’s experience with it from buying it new in 2009 and keeping it until 2016 when it was replaced by a new BMW 116 diesel.

In the 7 years and 110.000 miles of ownership, the Golf was completely faultless - My Father drove the car on lots of holidays across the United Kingdom and Europe. The car was just regularly serviced by Volkswagen themselves for the first three years and a Volkswagen Specialist afterwards.

To drive the Golf was not the most exciting - nothing on his BMW, but it was exactly what a Volkswagen should be which is easy, comfortable and drama free (which is brilliant for a pensioner in his 70s). The car was also very economical as over the 110.000 miles my father achieved low to mid 60s to the gallon.
The best part about the Golf compared to his 1 Series is the Golf does have a bigger boot which is better for my Father as he is a golfer.

Overall my Father does prefer his BMW, however that should not take anything away from just how good the Golf is as an overall package. And add in the fact the 1 Series is a more expensive car and you cannot really compare the two.

So me and my father would both recommend the Volkswagen Golf and believe that it is the best car in its class.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by SV on 27 May 2018
2
reviewed by ah207 on 10 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Neil K on 21 February 2018
3
reviewed by Atommo75 on 2 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ben's Golf on 15 August 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 August 2017
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 April 2017
4
reviewed by halloranan on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by Petemc1960 on 10 February 2016
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 October 2015
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 August 2015
5
reviewed by SomerHimpson60 on 22 August 2015
3
reviewed by ah207 on 2 July 2015
4
reviewed by spin0304 on 28 April 2015
1
reviewed by AnonML on 19 April 2015
1
reviewed by RJ2DJ on 7 April 2015
5
reviewed by spoons33 on 22 October 2014
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 27 September 2014
5
reviewed by perkscan on 28 August 2014
3
reviewed by bakeart on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by gbhall on 17 July 2014
1
reviewed by johnt71 on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by fatboyfat on 9 May 2014
3
reviewed by bobhaynes on 2 May 2014
4
reviewed by johnt71 on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by hillwalker on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by citnut3 on 8 March 2014
1
reviewed by Biscayne on 3 March 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2014
5
reviewed by armchair on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Caution on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by whizzwheels on 26 December 2013
4
reviewed by Bathmark on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by g2gsoon on 4 November 2013
2
reviewed by Alteseehund on 29 October 2013
5
reviewed by Wilson78 on 26 October 2013
4
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
5
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 15 March 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 January 2013
3
reviewed by greendg7 on 7 September 2012
3
reviewed by sad_tsi_owner on 24 August 2012
2
reviewed by JVG on 14 July 2011
1
reviewed by Neverbuybluemotion on 2 June 2011
5
reviewed by chiark on 15 June 2010
5
reviewed by Car enthusiast on 22 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,880–£33,710
Road TaxA–J
MPG33.2–74.3 mpg
Real MPG87.9%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by eriador
5
submitted by MATTHEW MARLOW
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car