Volkswagen Golf (2009 - 2013)

2
reviewed by Gary Lindley on 26 July 2019
5
reviewed by Pab D on 28 June 2019
1
reviewed by Paul Alllum on 8 April 2019
5
reviewed by Andrew Khaleeli on 23 February 2019
5
reviewed by Roger Potts on 15 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 2 July 2018
5
reviewed by SV on 27 May 2018
2
reviewed by ah207 on 10 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Neil K on 21 February 2018
3
reviewed by Atommo75 on 2 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ben's Golf on 15 August 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 August 2017
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 April 2017
4
reviewed by halloranan on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by Petemc1960 on 10 February 2016
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 October 2015
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 August 2015
5
reviewed by SomerHimpson60 on 22 August 2015
3
reviewed by ah207 on 2 July 2015
4

2.0 TDI GT 140ps

reviewed by spin0304 on 28 April 2015
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
How practical it is
4
Overall reliability

Good economy, good acceleration some niggles

I've had a black version of this car for a few months now. I'm really please with the appearance and the economy however, having had a avant-garde Mercedes A class before hand the spec is quite basic.

There are virtually no drink holders in the front - unless you have the VW bottle opener in the centre console which converts the space to drink holders, the door pockets are a very loose version of them.

There is a unidentifiable rattle on the passenger side of the dashboard. Its seems to be coming from the airbag area and impossible to access without complete removal of the dashboard.

Automatic wipers and headlights would be ideal as it is a reasonably high end model - I would have thought these would be standard. Cruise control and heated mirrors are on it as well as it being 6 speed.

The steering position is not ideal - the wheel blocks the instrument panel/speedometer so unless your seat is in the lowest position and the wheel as high as possible, there will always be an issue with identifying what speed you are doing.

I love the dark tinted windows in the rear. These have been ideal for our kids, we don't need window blinds in sunny weather.

The RCD310 radio/cd player is quite dated. It only has Bluetooth Audio and NOT the Bluetooth telephone function. The Audio element only recognises older model telephones. I have enquired about the cost of a replacement at Halfords which works in line with the steering controls and this will cost approximately £220 for a double din Bluetooth stereo inc fitting. The facia plate alone is £60! (for a bit of plastic - plus the stereo was in the sale at £110).

If I hadn't driven a car before this one that had such a high spec, I would probably have been much happier with the golf. The boot space is sufficient for an off road pushchair to fit in, it has a spare wheel (hard to find these days), and the visual appearance of the car is very nice. Overall it is a nice car but I think I will return to Mercedes once I had this one for a while.

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by AnonML on 19 April 2015
1
reviewed by RJ2DJ on 7 April 2015
5
reviewed by spoons33 on 22 October 2014
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 27 September 2014
5
reviewed by perkscan on 28 August 2014
3
reviewed by bakeart on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by gbhall on 17 July 2014
1
reviewed by johnt71 on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by fatboyfat on 9 May 2014
3
reviewed by bobhaynes on 2 May 2014
4
reviewed by johnt71 on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by hillwalker on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by citnut3 on 8 March 2014
1
reviewed by Biscayne on 3 March 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2014
5
reviewed by armchair on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Caution on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by whizzwheels on 26 December 2013
4
reviewed by Bathmark on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by g2gsoon on 4 November 2013
2
reviewed by Alteseehund on 29 October 2013
5
reviewed by Wilson78 on 26 October 2013
4
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
5
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 15 March 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 January 2013
3
reviewed by greendg7 on 7 September 2012
3
reviewed by sad_tsi_owner on 24 August 2012
2
reviewed by JVG on 14 July 2011
1
reviewed by Neverbuybluemotion on 2 June 2011
5
reviewed by chiark on 15 June 2010
5
reviewed by Car enthusiast on 22 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,880–£33,710
Road TaxA–J
MPG33.2–74.3 mpg
Real MPG87.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Kishor
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car