Volkswagen Golf (2009 - 2013)

2
reviewed by Gary Lindley on 26 July 2019
5
reviewed by Pab D on 28 June 2019
1
reviewed by Paul Alllum on 8 April 2019
5
reviewed by Andrew Khaleeli on 23 February 2019
5
reviewed by Roger Potts on 15 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 2 July 2018
5
reviewed by SV on 27 May 2018
2
reviewed by ah207 on 10 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Neil K on 21 February 2018
3
reviewed by Atommo75 on 2 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ben's Golf on 15 August 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 August 2017
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 April 2017
4
reviewed by halloranan on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by Petemc1960 on 10 February 2016
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 October 2015
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 August 2015
5
reviewed by SomerHimpson60 on 22 August 2015
3
reviewed by ah207 on 2 July 2015
4
reviewed by spin0304 on 28 April 2015
1
reviewed by AnonML on 19 April 2015
1
reviewed by RJ2DJ on 7 April 2015
5
reviewed by spoons33 on 22 October 2014
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 27 September 2014
5
reviewed by perkscan on 28 August 2014
3
reviewed by bakeart on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by gbhall on 17 July 2014
1
reviewed by johnt71 on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by fatboyfat on 9 May 2014
3
reviewed by bobhaynes on 2 May 2014
4
reviewed by johnt71 on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by hillwalker on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by citnut3 on 8 March 2014
1

Match 1.6 TDI 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Biscayne on 3 March 2014
1
Overall rating
1
How it drives
1
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
1
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

A big disappointment

Bought this to replace a 2005 Bora 1.9 TDI 130 and I wish I hadn't! 16% less power and torque than the Bora but exactly the same MPG. The Bora combined consumption (according to EU directive 1999/100/EC) was 51.4, which is pretty much what I got. The Golf, tested to the same EU directive, should have returned 62.8 but it isn't even close. On one full tank to full tank measure it returned only 45 MPG.
VW have also got carried away with dumb features that can be implemented in software but don't cost anything in terms of additional hardware. Why, when I turn the temperature control to the coldest position, does the air conditioning turn on? If I want AC (which I don't, because the smell gives me sinus problems), there is a button to switch it on and off. I find that I can't change any of the ventilation settings without having to look down and check if I need to reset the AC/recirculate functions.
I did at least manage to get 'Hill Hold Assist' disabled before it caused an accident. If you tell your dealer that you are a driving instructor, VW will tell them how to turn it off.
A host of other niggles, like the radio screen that doesn't dim using the control that dims the instrument lights, door mirrors that loose alignment if you turn them down far enough to see parking bay lines and windscreen wipers that need a special sequence of ignition switch/wiper control to position them so that you can change the blades all add up to make ownership of this car a real pain.
Sometime after the MK4 Golf, VW seem to have lost their way. One consolation is that it does have a handbrake, unlike the MK7. At slow speed on slippery surfaces, the handbrake is a valuable additional control. Are MK7 owners expected not to drive on snow and slush?

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2014
5
reviewed by armchair on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Caution on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by whizzwheels on 26 December 2013
4
reviewed by Bathmark on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by g2gsoon on 4 November 2013
2
reviewed by Alteseehund on 29 October 2013
5
reviewed by Wilson78 on 26 October 2013
4
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
5
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 15 March 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 January 2013
3
reviewed by greendg7 on 7 September 2012
3
reviewed by sad_tsi_owner on 24 August 2012
2
reviewed by JVG on 14 July 2011
1
reviewed by Neverbuybluemotion on 2 June 2011
5
reviewed by chiark on 15 June 2010
5
reviewed by Car enthusiast on 22 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,880–£33,710
Road TaxA–J
MPG33.2–74.3 mpg
Real MPG87.9%

Just reviewed...

3
submitted by Cabusa
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by frank mchugh
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car