Volkswagen Golf (2009 - 2013)

2
reviewed by Gary Lindley on 26 July 2019
5
reviewed by Pab D on 28 June 2019
1
reviewed by Paul Alllum on 8 April 2019
5
reviewed by Andrew Khaleeli on 23 February 2019
5
reviewed by Roger Potts on 15 July 2018
5
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 2 July 2018
5
reviewed by SV on 27 May 2018
2
reviewed by ah207 on 10 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 March 2018
5
reviewed by Neil K on 21 February 2018
3
reviewed by Atommo75 on 2 November 2017
5
reviewed by Ben's Golf on 15 August 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 3 August 2017
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 April 2017
4
reviewed by halloranan on 16 June 2016
4
reviewed by Petemc1960 on 10 February 2016
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 30 October 2015
3
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 August 2015
5
reviewed by SomerHimpson60 on 22 August 2015
3
reviewed by ah207 on 2 July 2015
4
reviewed by spin0304 on 28 April 2015
1
reviewed by AnonML on 19 April 2015
1
reviewed by RJ2DJ on 7 April 2015
5
reviewed by spoons33 on 22 October 2014
3
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 27 September 2014
5
reviewed by perkscan on 28 August 2014
3
reviewed by bakeart on 31 July 2014
5
reviewed by gbhall on 17 July 2014
1
reviewed by johnt71 on 5 June 2014
2
reviewed by fatboyfat on 9 May 2014
3
reviewed by bobhaynes on 2 May 2014
4
reviewed by johnt71 on 1 May 2014
5
reviewed by hillwalker on 1 May 2014
3
reviewed by citnut3 on 8 March 2014
1
reviewed by Biscayne on 3 March 2014
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2014
5
reviewed by armchair on 23 January 2014
4
reviewed by Caution on 23 January 2014
5

GTI 2.0 TSI 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by whizzwheels on 26 December 2013
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Superb all rounder

My Golf GTI was purchased used from a main dealer when it was two years old. After owning two very unreliable (yet brand new) MINI's and a BMW 120d which had electrical gremlins, it has been a pleasure to own the Golf, which has been faultless.

It is extremely light and easy to drive around town, which is important to me. (My previous E90 320d and 120d had a heavier clutch and steering). The engine and manual gearbox combination make for very smooth progress, and the steering is excellent.

There was a bit too much road noise when I first collected the car. This noise was quickly traced to the worn rear tyres. A set of four new Continental Sport Contact 5's completely fixed the problem.

Unlike a current shape Focus I tried, the Golf has a tight turning circle. Together with front and rear parking sensors and compact external dimensions, it is the perfect car to own in the city centre. The only issue has been that the eye catching 18" alloys are prone to kerbing.

It has a lovely high quality feel and the interior still looks like new. No trim squeaks or rattles either (unlike the MINIs and the 120d). Only the fuel consumption lets it down in city driving (25-28mpg). This is only to be expected for a 2.0T, but it is very smooth and I prefer it to my two recent diesel cars.

On a longer journey, it is a great companion; it was well worth fitting the cruise control. It gets 40-42mpg on trips to the Scottish Highlands.

The car feels very light and docile in low speed driving, but there is real oomph available when the revs climb, together with a rasping exhaust note. Great for overtaking and very entertaining on the right road. Overall, the car has a great feel good factor.

My main criticism of the ownership experience was that the VW dealer in Darlington who sold me the car made no attempt to clean or present it to an acceptable standard. The local dealer has been good, however.

I have no intention of selling and can't imagine a better all-round car for my needs.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Bathmark on 28 November 2013
4
reviewed by g2gsoon on 4 November 2013
2
reviewed by Alteseehund on 29 October 2013
5
reviewed by Wilson78 on 26 October 2013
4
reviewed by Comical Engineer on 8 April 2013
5
reviewed by beatlejuice2012 on 15 March 2013
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 January 2013
3
reviewed by greendg7 on 7 September 2012
3
reviewed by sad_tsi_owner on 24 August 2012
2
reviewed by JVG on 14 July 2011
1
reviewed by Neverbuybluemotion on 2 June 2011
5
reviewed by chiark on 15 June 2010
5
reviewed by Car enthusiast on 22 May 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£14,880–£33,710
Road TaxA–J
MPG33.2–74.3 mpg
Real MPG87.9%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Kishor
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car