rover cylinder heads - john molloy
i have a rover 400 series car which is 5year old and the cylinder head has blown and when i rang a garage to see if i could book it in they would not take me on saying they have 4 cars( rovers ) already in waiting to do .
at the time my car went two other people that i work for said that they had the same problem with their rovers .
is it a design fault with the k series engine and if it is can we get compansation for the work that has been done on the car.
Re: rover cylinder heads - Andy
John - I'm no expert, but I've heard that the only head problems with the K-series is caused by poor mainenance, especially failure to keep the coolant level up.
I've had two 200-series Rovers (a 1.6 and a 1.8), always had them serviced properly and never suffered probs at all.
Perhaps someone with more knowledge will shed some light...?

Regards
Re: rover cylinder heads - Terry M
A question was asked recently by a chap interested in buying a 214(new shape) - but it was never really answered - he asked about the bit in HJ's car by car breakdown that states these engines need regular tightening of the head bolts - someone else said this is NOT the case but I believe it is - why else do so many K series units suffer head faliure?

Perhaps the great HJ can answer this once and for all - AND tell us how often the bolts need tightening!? please
Re: rover cylinder heads - Dave
"but it was never really answered"

I think it was!

If Mr A Moorey says they shouldn't be tightened then that is the answer. QED.

Perhaps HJ means that if you ever remove a K Series head it should be overtorqued when you pop it back on?
Re: rover cylinder heads - Terry M
Thats not what the local rover dealer says... they say should be re-torqued every service
Cylinder head bolts?

Interesting. It's not in the service shedule on mine.

I wonder if they suffer head failures *because* they are tightened.