Lane Hogging on the M25 - TheGrocer
I notice the government recently had a campaign to alert drivers to the need to move over to the left on Motorways and not hog the middle or even outside lane. I like to think I am a considerate driver but having recently returned to using the M25 Jct 5 to 11 on a regular basis I have come to the conclusion that it is safer to stay in the same lane.
If you try to follow the Police advice and move into the left lane when it is clear ahead you rapidly come up behind a truck or other slow mover and then other drivers in the middle lane wont let you back out! Most of the time you end up braking and using far more fuel. I have tried staying in the middle lane but then you end up undertaking slower traffic in the fast lane. I think we should use the US system Find a lane and stick to it undertaking is legal and the whole system just works better!
Lane Hogging on the M25 - codefarm
Agreed. Here in the US the trucks are also not fitted with ridiculous speed limiters, and bowl along at 65+, the same speed as the rest of the traffic, so they don't operate like rolling roadblocks.
Lane Hogging on the M25 - Smartdealer
Lane discipline is an outdated theory when it comes to roads as busy as the M25. My view is it's safer to stay in an appropriate lane and not keep chopping and changing. In fact that's what the signs say where the variable speed limit applies. Was following some guy the other night who thought he'd try and remind the other drivers how lane discipline works by constantly changing back to lane 1 as soon as he overtook the smallest bit of traffic. He didn't seem too bothered by other cars having to suddenly brake just to accomodate him...idiot!
Lane Hogging on the M25 - Robin Reliant