VW CC - Advanced Driving - DiamondDes

I am a recently passed advanced driver, but I have a few concerns about the doctrines which I would like to share over time to gain the opinions of others.

The first one is :"only indicate when you can see someone else that it will benefit"

My understanding of the reasoning behind this is that:

• It prevents one from indicating then absolving oneself of all responsibility thereafter
  • It prevents indication pollution, where everyone is indicating thus leading to confusion
  • It forces one to actively identify every car in the vicinity that would benefit and could become a hazard.

The problem i have with this is that I never felt that I was abdicating responsibility, merely informing other road users of my intentions. Ive never been polluted at junctions because I pick out the indications which are most relevant to me and merely make note of the others in case they become more relevant. I do try to identify every other car that could benefit , but unfortunately sometimes I miss one, or rather it emerges later on in the system.

But by far the worse thing is that after 35 years of driving I have stopped habitually indicating at every opportunity and I am now erroneously omitting to indicate at times when it would be clearly useful and safer for other drivers.

Was it really so bad to indicate at every opportunity (change in direction) on the basis someone might benefit. Particularly since now Im missing valuable opportunities to provide information.

Edited by Des Shillingford on 04/05/2021 at 21:18

VW CC - Advanced Driving - galileo

As I understand it the logic is that it demands good observation, rather than indicate without checking.

You should include pedestrians when deciding if indication is helpful, for example, when approaching a road you intend to turn into. (always, of course, being prepared for whatever the pedestrian may do)

Why cant we strive for good observation and 100% indication of intentions ?