N/A - DOC insurance (or lack of) - MorfA

Hello

I have a bit of sensitive situation that I was hoping to get quick advice on. I am a named driver on a car belonging to my mother (but only driven by me normally). My mother is the main policy holder, but she has basically gifted the car to me and my wife.

My mother in law is visiting from Spain. The car insurance rules there appear to be quite different. In summary: she keeps taking this car for short trips, with her daughter's permission but not necessarily mine. I keep trying to explain that with me being a named driver but not main policy holder, I don't think my permission (which I'd be happy to give if I knew we were on the right side of the law) is sufficient. She is insured in Spain, but I don't know if anything her Spanish car insurance policy says about DOC or equivalent will mean anything here?

She is taking the car to help out with shopping etc while I work from home and we both care for our new baby, but the situation is stressing me out a bit as neither she nor my wife seem to care much about the risk!

Could anyone help me with a summary of the likely legality or not here, plus what would be likely to happen to the MIL, or me as named drive, or MY mother should she be stopped by police?

Thanks

MA

N/A - DOC insurance (or lack of) - daveyjp

This is a potentially expensive mess which needs sorting out.

Your mum can be registered keeper

Your mum can be main policy holder.

You can be a named driver

You can be the main driver

Any claim will be against your mums policy and her NCB will be affected.

If mum in law has an accident it could get expensive and messy for her. Accidents do happen at low speed in car parks and consequences can be catastrophic.

If mum in law is driving get her added as an extra driver now. Shouldn't cost too much.

If the car is in effect yours it would cleaner for you to be registered keeper, you to have the main policy and add mum and mum in law as additional drivers.