Lots of smoke (no, more than that!) - Volcano
So I'm driving along a dual carriageway last night with all the wind and rain when I get a strong smell of smoke in my nostrils, turns out it's a car travelling slowly (approx 30 mph) about a hundred metres ahead. The cars behind it are pulling out to overtake and when I get closer I realise it is because they can't physically see past this car.....

I've been driving for 20 years and I've NEVER seen anything like the thick, black smoke billowing out of the back of this car! It was just a huge, massive great pall blocking out all visibility and churning out of this car at an unbelievable rate, despite the high winds (superlatives fail me at describing this). You've seen a car completely alight by vandals etc on telly? The smoke was that bad!

I didn't get the car make, (too busy trying to see the road) though it was an 03 year. I'm 80% sure this smoke was coming out of the exhaust, though again I was concentrating on the road. I was very surprised I didn't see any flames. The driver showed no sign of stopping though obviously was experiencing engine problems (due to their slow progress) and was last seen turning onto an even busier dual carriageway (maybe I should have called the police?)

So, what was wrong with the car?

Lots of smoke (no, more than that!) - moonshine {P}

My guess would be a failed turbo on diesel engine.
I've never seen that before. If the turbo fails doesn't the engine operate normally, just with less injector pressure?
Lots of smoke (no, more than that!) - mss1tw
Depends how it failed
Lots of smoke (no, more than that!) - normd2
I had an Allegro like that. it would use an entire sumpful of oil between Edinburgh and Glasgow with a huge smokescreen behind it all the way. Stripped and rebuilt the engine a couple of times but never did find out why.
Lots of smoke (no, more than that!) - Tron
Could have been filled with wrong fuel? Diesel in a petrol = lots of smoke...