Buying Used Taxi - RaineMan

For some reason everybody seems to think I am an expert on taxis! A friend has run a V6 Galaxy for the past 6/7 years. The running costs have always been high but this year there have been some horrendous servicing/repair costs (current mileage 140k). With ever larger ones looming he has decided to give up on it. Anyway Dick has never been what you would call a car enthusiast but prefers the more unusual. He did not learn to drive until his mid-twenties and his first car was an ancient Sunbeam Talbot 90! Dick has decided he now wants something totally different. The first choice was a VW camper but he has decided this is something for the future as although two children are no longer at home three still have to be transported regularly. Anyway he has decided a London taxi would be ideal and has a budget of about £5,000. Has anybody any experience of running one as a private car? Should he stick to an FX or are MetroCabs OK?, etc.
Buying Used Taxi - Chris M
How many private taxis do you see on the roads/driveways/Tescos. Very very few.

I wonder why that is!!
Buying Used Taxi - bell boy
I dont think 5g"s would buy an over good one as these things do silly mileage and are only taken off the roads due to failing the strict mot taxi test or they have sustained a good smack.
Your friend would be advised to do his homework very carefully
Buying Used Taxi - normd2
I looked into buying an ex-taxi a couple of years back - it's not as daft an idea as some think. Spares are easy to come by, plenty mechanics know their way around them and if you go for the Nissan diesel powered ones even better. You must remember to keep the back doors locked however as people will just open the door and jump in.

Have a look at :

www.elitelondontaxis.co.uk

Buying Used Taxi - Falkirk Bairn
>>Has anybody any experience of running one as a private car?