Moped advice - tompparker
Hi,

Please could you advise me on mopeds?

I want to ride a moped on my driving licence, so it has to be 50cc and have a top design speed of 50 km/h.

Do 50cc mopeds all have a top design speeds of 50 km/h? If not, how can I tell what a bike's top speed is?

Thanks.
Moped advice - Lud
In Spain, where 14-year-olds can drive low powered bikes, it is common in the country to see nippers on these crouching down to reduce their frontal area and put on a couple of ks.
Moped advice - lordwoody
Can'y say I'm a huge expert but I believe nearly all ( if not all) 50cc bikes are restricted to 30mph. Most can be easily deristricted and will give up to about 55mph, depending on size of rider. ( In my case nearer 20mph I fear)
Moped advice - Pugugly {P}
You might be able to find an original FI5E from the 70s which will cost an arm and a leg. In my opinion as a motorcylcist mopeds are the most dangerous form of road traffic known to man. Don't do it.
The bike IIRC should be stamped with the fact that it is restricted...honestly don't even think about it.
Moped advice - No FM2R
>>FI5E

I'm guessing you mean an FS1E and you should also know that the cool kids had an FS1E-DX (front disk brake).
You're right Mark, stress induced dislexia following the thought of anyone venturing out on a moped in today's Traffic conditions !
Moped advice - No FM2R
Is it that much worse than it was ? I am not convinced. I agree that there's loads more traffic but that surely results in roads running slower.

I don't think any of my friends were killed or crippled on a moped, but a fair number ended their lives on 250s or ended up crippled from a larger bike.