Customer trying to reject car - alcot33uk
Hi Gang,

We sold a customer a one year old car recently which developed a gearbox fault and broke down. It was covered by the manufacturers two year unlimited mileage warranty including breakdown. The car was fixed by their local Mercedes dealer within 24 hours.

The customer has now written to us wishing to reject the car and wishes a refund. They say they have only travelled 5 miles in the car in the 4 months they have owned it.....

Any thoughts?
Customer trying to reject car - nutty_nissan
It doesn't make sense. They've only travelled 5 miles in 4 months. Is that because it's been in the garage most of the time?
The fact that they allowed the Mercedes dealer to fix the car might mean they have legally accepted the car (but I'm no expert). You can't reject a car if you have continued to use it, but it sounds like they haven't used the car at all.

Pls supply a bit more info, so we can advise accordingly.
That genuinely is the case!

We delivered one to them that the wife loved, but he rang and said that he did not like it so we got them another one and they now say that after 4 months they want to reject it!
What is their basis for rejecting the car?
That they have 'lost faith' in the car.

He says that she says that she wants the same car (Colour spec etc) But just not that one!
LOST FAITH? That's not covered under the sale of goods act 1979 (as amended). From a dealer's goodwill perspective, you might want to help them out. From a legal perspective, even trading standards would laugh at a consumer that wanted to reject a car after 4 months because it broke down and needed a repair, which was done pretty quickly. Sounds like a awful customer to have to deal with.
What I mean is is the car undriveable now? Is the fault a recurring fault? IMHO, if they allowed the car to be repaired, and it's working fine now, they don't have a leg to stand on.