Retreads - Gen
Are retreads false economy or great value?
Retreads - jc
It's your(and families) life.As the Bell helmet advert used to say-"put a five dollar helmet on a five dollar head".
Retreads - NARU
I think its down to the use the car will get. If you know you'll only be using it at low speed around town (eg. you live in the city and never go beyond it) then they may be a good choice. If you regularly use motorways then I wouldn't.
Retreads - Dizzy {P}
I've no recent experience with retreads but I'll bet they don't perform as well as new tyres (noise, comfort, road-holding, water dispersal, etc). They are most likely to wear out more quickly too, in which case there won't even be a cost saving overall.

There's a lot of technology in a tyre and every bit is designed as part of the whole. In any case, when the tread on a tyre has worn out, there is almost certainly a level of degradation of the carcase too. I'd stick to new, and to respected brands like Goodyear, Michelin, Continental.
Retreads - Ben {P}
I would rather drive on a part worn tyre than a retread.
Retreads - Ben {P}
I should add a part worn tyre of a decent brand such as those mentioned by Dizzy.
Retreads - Aprilia
Good retreads can perform very well. Indeed, retreads are still very widely used in the LGV, PSV and even aircraft tyre sectors.
Car retreads have become much less popular in recent years though and some companies have even gone out of business - the reason being that brand new car tyres are now relatively cheap. Overall, as others have said, unless you are about to 'dump' the car then buy a new, well known, brand.
Retreads - none
Agree with Aprilia, We use retreads on the 7.5t lorries, but only on the rear wheels. They are no trouble at all - retreaded by the original manufacturer. But we fit only new tyres to front wheels. To be honest, some of the cheap 'new' tyres I see don't come anywhere near a Michelin retread in quality or performance.
Retreads - Altea Ego