ds3 crossback - My car steering pulls sometimes left or right... - mark25810

Hi there i have a new lease car a ds3 crossback got it end of July and noticed something that craps me out each time it has happened...not often but often enough lol

When i have changed lanes on motorways the cars steering pulls left or right...am i right in thinking this is when i am going over the cat's-eyes in the middle of the white lines?

Its pretty scary as i am a nervy driver anyway and my first car a 2007 civic did not do this.

I think it has happened sometimes even when i have just got close to the edge of the lane too but i am not 100% that i didn`t accidently go over the line a bit though i did not feel any bumps.

I thought i had lane keep assist on at first but i didn`t so am thinking its the going over the cat's-eyes but its really horrid for me when it happens.

I do try dodge motorways anyway but sometimes i can`t so dread it even more now.

I think its happened on a normal fast road too when i had to overtake a slow tractor. Just wondering if its normal for some cars.

ds3 crossback - My car steering pulls sometimes left or right... - bathtub tom

Lots of motorways have 'tramlines' in the inside lane caused by HGVs. These have a wider track than your average car and can cause the effect you describe. They can be more easily seen on a wet road as the 'troughs' fill with water.

ds3 crossback - My car steering pulls sometimes left or right... - Bolt

Lots of motorways have 'tramlines' in the inside lane caused by HGVs. These have a wider track than your average car and can cause the effect you describe. They can be more easily seen on a wet road as the 'troughs' fill with water.

M20 used to be really bad for tramlining and often threw the car steering from one direction to the other in quick succession, most drivers kept the car outside the lines to prevent problems.