BMW 5 Series (2010 - 2017)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 August 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 May 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 May 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 February 2021
5
reviewed by spikemears on 23 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 19 February 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 January 2019
5

520d EfficientDynamics 4dr Saloon

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 July 2018
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Excellent Efficient Taxi

I bought my 2011 BMW 520d EfficentDynamics used at a year old with 10.000 miles on the clock from BMW Sytner Nottingham to be a taxi as part of my fleet of taxis in my family run taxi business. I have now owned the car 6 years and it now has 190.000 miles on the clock and it has been brilliant, just like any BMW I have owned.
In this time the only issue I had was Stop/Start failing at around 85.000 miles whilst I was taxing customers from Nottingham to Sheffield. Popped into Sytner Sheffield and the issue was resolved the same day for a very small fee - excellent customer service.
Other than that, the only MOT advisory is a slightly fray in one of the seatbelts and other than that general wear and tear. It could probably do with a new clutch soon too.

Other than reliability, the best part about my car is it’s superb fuel economy. Being the EfficentDynamics it does around 5 miles per gallon better than the standard 520 diesel and I average around 63 to the gallon, excellent for a large car and great for my fuel costs doing so many miles a year in it.

Another positive about the 5 Series is it’s superb interior quality and comfort. After nearly 200.000 miles there isn’t a single rattle or squeak and I can easily do a 500 mile journey in a day in so much comfort.

I intend to keep this 5 Series even longer and hope to add a new G30 generation 520d to the fleet as well. This 5 Series was so good though that I even went on to replace a different taxi with an F30 320d EfficentDynamics Touring.

Top job from BMW, full 5 Stars!

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 June 2018
5
reviewed by gary bampkin on 20 June 2018
5
reviewed by Tre Pares on 15 June 2018
4
reviewed by GeoffJ on 13 December 2017
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 6 November 2017
5
reviewed by Charley Horse on 3 August 2017
5
reviewed by Michael21 on 10 November 2016
5
reviewed by djmill on 18 March 2016
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 August 2014
5
reviewed by Corporate Gypsy on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by GUGA on 18 December 2013
5
reviewed by AW Manchester on 30 November 2013
3
reviewed by Rochdale Pioneers on 24 August 2012
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 21 July 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 April 2012
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 April 2012
5
reviewed by denny on 5 December 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£30,265–£58,075
Road TaxC–J
MPG32.1–68.9 mpg
Real MPG72.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by r groocock
 

Value my car