Audi A6 Avant (2005 - 2011)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 22 June 2018
1
reviewed by VoodooRit on 29 May 2017
4
reviewed by Nigel Brown on 12 October 2016
1
reviewed by richardvaltos on 13 August 2013
3
reviewed by skipole on 27 February 2012
5
reviewed by Moriarty Blackstone on 29 January 2012
5
reviewed by suffolked on 15 February 2011
2

Avant 2.0TDI Multitronic

reviewed by rsmck on 2 December 2010
2
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Great car when it worked, appalling service from dealership.

Bought the Audi A6 after several years of Passat ownership as we didn't like the new style Passat and it was significantly smaller. From the start fuel economy was poor, multiple trips to the dealer resulted in eventual replacement of the fuel filter which made no difference.

On the positive side the car was very spacious, comfortable and the MMI Entertainment and Navigation system was a joy to use - particularly when compared with the offerings from BMW (iDrive) and Mercedes (COMAND). The standard audio system is also very impressive. It's nice to see a full-size (alloy) spare as standard too.

The little touches show a lot of thought went into this car - the windscreen wipers will always park themselves properly even if you turn the car off mid-wipe, the radio cross-fades between stations, the car will turn off ancillary electrical systems (e.g. radio / lights etc) if you've left them on to prevent the battery draining to name but a few. The cabin is a nice place to be - everything well laid out and easy to use.

Now for the downside(s);

Multitronic gearbox was replaced entirely at 30,000 miles under warranty. The flywheel was then replaced again at 60,000 miles under warranty due to rough idling. Over 6 months the vehicle made 4 trips to my local Audi dealer due to complaints of unusual noise, coolant loss and rough running - repeatedly returned to me being told there was no fault.

Car broke down suddenly whilst driving (complete, potentially dangerous, loss of power) and was recovered to the Audi dealer. After over two weeks of investigation they identified the failure of the EGR Valve and EGR Cooler (which had been causing the coolant leak). Despite this being the obvious source of the problem identified 6 months previously (when the vehicle was under warranty) because the breakdown happened outwith the warranty they claimed it was unrelated and not covered by the warranty.

As an aside the fuel economy improved by around 15% after the EGR valve was replaced leading me to believe this part may not have been operating optimally since purchase - a fault that my Audi dealer was consistently unable to identify

For a car of this supposed "reputable" marque to have required a new gearbox, two flywheels, an EGR valve, and EGR cooler and numerous trips to the dealer in such a short space of time is ridiculous. The service received from my local Audi dealer, in comparison to what I have received from VW and Volvo, is appalling.

My A6 was a wonderful car, but until they sort out their dealership network it's somewhat reluctantly that I have to admit I won't be buying another Audi.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by N8B on 5 September 2010
4
reviewed by runnerbean14 on 4 July 2010
4
reviewed by il sole on 2 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,245–£48,345
Road TaxE–M
MPG24.1–53.3 mpg
Real MPG86.7%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car