Please Help! So stressed as hit parked car - suzi1

Hi

I am at my wits end as i helped someone move and hired a van.

I caused a small scratch to a parked car and the owner said he would consider my offer of paying for the repair out of court.

I didnt hear anything and assumed he had let it go...until 6 weeks later i got a letter from his insurers

He is now saying his car is undrivable and is using a hire car

The problem is im young and on a minimum wage, though i was insured to drive the hire van as i didnt notify them of the incident as i thought the owner was unlikely to claim...im now not covered as the hire company say i failed to tell them within 7 days.

To say that im stressed out is an understatement as honestly, the scratch was very minor and if you saw the car in question, you would laugh and think it was unroadworthy just to look at it!

I have been driving for 3 years with no problems so this is a first for me and its driving me insane as i simply have no money!

This bloke is trying to ruin me by lying...what can i do??

Edited by suzi1 on 25/10/2012 at 20:47

Please Help! So stressed as hit parked car - Butterfly
Oh dear. Did you take any pictures at the time or have you any witnesses? Personally I would spend £50 on a solicitors letter to the person concerned pointing out very firmly that his claim is bogus and that you, and your witnesse, will refute their claim most strongly in court if necessary but again, offering to pay for the small repair for the scratch.
I'm guessing you are quite young and he may just be trying to get one over but if he realises you are not a push over he may back off. Also has he given you any reports regarding the work he says is needed?
Please Help! So stressed as hit parked car - Armitage Shanks {p}