VW Polo 1998 - Overheating Problem - MHunt

Hi,

About 3 weeks ago my polo overheated very suddenly. Looking at other threads on this site I figured it to be a thermostat issue and changed that. That solved the problem for about 2 weeks but it had started overheating again. Not as dramatic as the last time. It starts about 10 minutes after setting off and can be controlled by using the heating in the car, but obviously thats not a long term solution.

I have checked the water pump (water flows into the coolant tank when I rev the engine - saw that tip on this site also). When I turn the engine off the fans isn't coming on and on checking the radiator pipes the top one was hot and the bottom not.

Has anyone any advice please? Total novice here and thought I'd solved it with the thermostat so lost again with this one.

Thanks

Marcus

VW Polo 1998 - Overheating Problem - Chris106

Marcus,

Sounds to me very much to me like a blocked radiator. I had a similar thing on my Pug 106 when i first bought it, although i was lucky and there was still half the radiator working so i could just magage to get about without cooking the engine.

Next step is to drain the coolant and give the rad a good flush through with a garden hose (remove top and bottom hoses). If it's bad you may need to back flush it by putting the hose in at the bottom and somehow sealing it so the rad fills and the water spills out the top.