Need something v.cheap, powerful and economical! - seismic22
Hi there,

I currently drive a VW Golf Gti 16v mk3 with 100,000 miles on it. The thing is bomb proof and a good mix of performance and comfort. With 150bhp and weighing only 1150kg its not as quick as modern hot hatches but its no slow coach!

Im a final year uni student a bit of a petrol head and skint. The golf does ok on fuel seeing as im quite heavy footed but as im really poor at the moment im thinking i should get something diesel until i finish uni and start a real job!

My question is, can anyone suggest any diesels that i could get for for £1000 or less that are good on fuel and could be kind of fun to drive. I have been looking at Peugeot 306 turbo diesels which do handle great but even with good torque, only having 90bhp is a bit of a big step down in performance! I am happy to accept a bit of a drop in performance but i dont want to be forever willing it to shift a bit more! Also i know many diesels like the golf are fine for 200,000 plus miles but i would rather something nearer the 100,000 mile mark.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Need something v.cheap, powerful and economical! - Hamsafar
You're asking for the moon on a stick. If I was you I'd keep what you've got. You lose money when you sell a car, lose money when you buy a car, lose money running a car.
Need something v.cheap, powerful and economical! - stunorthants26
Pug 306 sounds like a good idea. It may not have the same outright performace, but in gear shove will be superior.
Need something v.cheap, powerful and economical! - cjehuk
306 TD is very good but isn't going to be as quick as your Golf as you identify. Most anything you can get in that price bracket isn't going to be as quick. You'll lose more money changing car than you'll save on diesel. Stick with the Golf and learn to drive "quickly and cheaply". This involves getting up to speed and concentrating on not losing it instead of heavy braking/acceleration.