I was an L Artic driver briefly.What went wrong? - oilrag
Guess why I gave it up? Was doing well on an L plate in around 1974. OK another fish was already being fried and I was studying to be a Social worker.. But out of interest and liking a `second string to the bow` I thought I would have a go.

I remember the truck and the safety checks, water out of the air brakes and so on. Had no real problems driving, only once putting the trailer wheels a few inched onto the kerb the first time out ;)

Reversing, I was good at that and they were pleased. Less so when negotiating an uphill turning standing start at a turning right junction " You will snap a half shaft" again first time out on the road.

Then there was the day another instructor came and noticed several wheel nuts missing off the wheels. Some tutting and off we went.

Anyway to the point. After a while I was doing well, so I was told, but I gave it up. A problem. Guess what? not Cash, health or ability to actually drive the truck. Sure, I was pressed for time because I was studying. But this was Saturday mornings. Bet even GB can`t get the reason.

Regards
I was an L Artic driver briefly.What went wrong? - nick
You didn't think you'd look good with a lorry driver's belly?
Didn't suit grubby string vests?
I could have written a better title, such as "We tried and failed as articulated truck drivers"

Mods ?

Edited by oilrag on 21/06/2008 at 12:07

I was an L Artic driver briefly.What went wrong? - Robin Reliant
You developed an allergic reaction to Yorkie Bars?
I was an L Artic driver briefly.What went wrong? - gordonbennet
Having all sorts of peculiar thoughts here, thats not unusual mind.