Haggling - sfrichard
I'm new to the whole car buying thing. I want to go to a main dealer as I feel more comfortable. The car I want is a Honda with a few options (alloy wheels, red met paint etc), and I want to buy used. My local dealer has said they can get any car from a UK Honda main dealer. I've seen one on the net at a dealer in Bournmouth (I live in Birmingham), But it's a 1k over parkers 'Franchised dealer' asking price.

I'm in the fortunate that I can pay cash, so I have some room to negotiate. but I'm wondering whether I'll have to, or whether it's advisable to go down to Bournmouth to negotiate a better deal. What are the advantages in sourcing the vehicle through a main dealer and what are the disadvantages?
Haggling - Aprilia
My solution (which worked well sourcing a new Suzuki for a relative) was to ring around all the dealers and ask to speak to the sales manager (you want the organ grinder, not the monkey). Tell them what you want and that you want to buy right now - then ask for their best price.
Haggling - Collos25
Cash is of very little incentive to salesman as you have just cut off a source of income commissionon from the credit company,Also Hondas seem to sell themselves so I do not see any massive discounts.
Haggling - Nsar
Visit the websites of a few car brokers such as the ones advertising here. It could save you a lot of money and your contract is direct with your local dealer.

Haggling - DP
When we bought SWMBO's old Fiesta Zetec-S (1yr old ex-demo) and the MX-5 (2yr old approved used) from main agents, the following secured a good discount, assuming you like, and are prepared to buy the car you are looking at: