Congestion/co2 charging - ablandy
Everytime you look at the news nowadays, there seems to be something on regarding cars, co2, emissions etc. The delightful Mayor Ken wants the heavy polluters to pay more. Well, a thought occurred to me. The congestion charge is rapidly becoming a co2 tax, so why not actually charge for the amount of co2 produced?

All new cars have a co2 figure. Which is great, but how many people know how the figure is achieved? I dont. Im assuming a standard test of some kind. Which is fine, but how does it factor in how the car is driven? Lets say im doing an "italian tune up" one day. Or im enjoying a spirited (but safe and legal) drive. Surely my car is producing more co2 than if i was drying at the standard level.

So rather than tax the car and introduce pay per mile and all the other nonsense, i suggest charging by the amount of co2. With a bit of tweaking of an ecu (im no expert on these things) they could get get an output from the ecu showing how the car is driven and based on a nifty formula a calculation could be made regarding how much co2 has come out. This data could then be picked up from somewhere (data transfer when filling up as an example, or roadside units that communicate with the onboard computer) and you can receive a nice monthly bill.

Must be a fairer method than everything else i have seen suggested.

Any opinions welcome.
Congestion/co2 charging - cjehuk
Basically it's the amount of CO2 emitted per km based on the offical average mpg. Some engines do a little better, some a little worse. It's a pretty linear relationship, mpg halves, CO2 doubles, though sports cars tend to produce a little more due to the way the engines are tuned. You are completely right that driving harder means more fuel used which means more CO2. But the Prius would look rather less impressive claiming 150g/km of CO2 for its true 45mpg.