Car salesmen - we're not all bad... - carsalesman
Hello All

I am a car salesman and have worked in this industry for roughly a year. I have met the good, the bad and the ugly since starting!

I have read numerous topics about the bad experiences people have had in here with car sales people.

I feel its unfair that we should all be categorised by the actions of the few and want to set the record straight!

Whilst I recognise that there are many cowboys in this industry, I feel many people have misplaced views on a lot of us.

I work for a large, prestige brand and regularly get treatment from customers that I feel isnt justified. They often come in with this misconception that I am going to rip them off,steal their car and give no customer care after purchased.

I pride myself on what I do and work a lot of hours (usually 55-60 hours) - 6 days a week, often coming in on my day off to be certain my customers are completely satisfied.

Many areas of selling cars needs to be looked at, however the main one is when you want to 'do the deal'.

When it comes to the negotiation part, there are MANY MANY topics and guides which state that a salesman ALWAYS knows how much margin is within a car and 'makes the deal'- often using the manager as a get out. Let me assure you this isnt always the case. Sometimes the salesman has to literally haggle with the manager to get the price you want...as the manager gives them no idea of margins in each vehicle.

Also, your part exchange price is not just something which is thought up and pulled out of the sky. Most decent dealers take the time to properly assess your car and look it up in professional guide books such as Glass's and CAP.

My priority is to sell you a car. I work on a salary heavily reliant on commision...and that is not always based on profit - usually on volume. If you have issues with the deal its in my interest as much as yours to gain the business.