Gutless A4 110 Tdi - tyre tread
I mentioned in another thread that I drove the wife's A4 the other day and it felt gutless and Notones suggested it might be the MAF sensor.

After finding and reading some other threads I have just been out and disconected (what I think is) the MAF sensor and taken the car for a spin.

It's just as gutless and takes circa 15 seconds to go from 60 to 70 in 5th on level ground.

I have given up putting the car into main dealers for repair as too expensive and now over 3yrs old so out of warranty.

The car has only done about 78K miles and my wife drives it quite gently.

Any other advice.

BTW the temp gauge has not worked for ages (only intermittently) which I suspect is the sender unit. Can anyone tell me where the sender is located - Haynes manuals are useless these days!
Gutless A4 110 Tdi - Wales Forester
I'm by no means a mechanic, but have you considered that the turbo may be faulty, or worse still may not be working altogether?

A blockage in the exhaust would cause similar symptoms on a petrol car, not sure if this applies to diesels.

PP
Gutless A4 110 Tdi - madf
Check the air oulet pipe from turbo is not leaking or disconnected. If it is you will have zero boost = gutless.

You will need a torch

madf

Gutless A4 110 Tdi - nortones2
TT: have you looked at this? tdiclub.com/TDIFAQ/ Try within para 8 in the list.
Gutless A4 110 Tdi - DL
Almost certainly a MAF problem.

I have recently restored full performance to my neighbours A4 110 TDi which was noticeably slower than mine.

--
groups.msn.com/honestjohn - Pictures say a thousand words.....
Gutless A4 110 Tdi - matstro
I've just replaced the MAF on our Seat TDI 110 W reg. Europarts and main dealer quoted about £150 but I went to German and Swedish and got one for under £70 on an exchange basis.

Don't know why this huge difference in price should be but it is!!
Gutless A4 110 Tdi - SjB {P}
> > TT: have you looked at this? tdiclub.com/TDIFAQ/ Try within para 8 in the list.