Change from car to motorbike - Greg R
I have been driving a car for many years, and although I have had a motorbike I have only ever ridden it when the weather is good.

I want to save money on motoring and am considering the use of my 125cc motorbike as my main form of transport. The savings are very significant, for example tax is £15 vs. £160, insurance is £100 vs. £600 etc.

I drive about 10,000 miles per year with some longer distances. Would a 125cc motor that is well serviced etc last long enough to be viable?

What are other motorbike riders opinion on this? Is it a good idea in the long run?

Your thoughts would be much appreciated.

Gregory
Change from car to motorbike - Clanger
Greg
Most bike schools have 125 bikes that are ridden 5 or 6 days out of 7. In answer to your question, I believe the answer is yes, the bike could stand it, but could you? Ask yourself if a 125 is suitable for the journeys you are going to throw at it. When I did my DAS in 2002 the school's 125 could barely reach 60 mph with 6' 2" 16 stone me on board. I guess that you would find the extra zip of a 500 makes better use of the bikes smaller silhouette in traffic and gives you more overtaking opportunities on the open road.
I passed my DAS a year ago today and use a 600 for local travel for handyman work when the weather is fine, but I doubt if I would enjoy it as much on a 125, and I am very glad to be inside a car when it's 6 below and the ungritted road is like a sheet of glass.
Good luck and let us know how you get on.

Hawkeye
-----------------------------
Stranger in a strange land
Change from car to motorbike - Hugo {P}
I am not a motorcylist, but I do know that the larger the engine, the more miles you'll get out of it (generally speaking)

If you have your full motorbike licence, why not go for a larger sized engine, say 250cc or 400cc tourer, have a more comfortable ride and have it last longer?