Mercedes-Benz SL-Class (2002 - 2008)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 July 2021
5
reviewed by Nick Simpson on 9 February 2021
5

SL500 R230

reviewed by Anonymous on 15 July 2020
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Awsome car ridiculously cheap

I already own a 1999 SL500 but have always loved the look of the R230. I’d been trying to sell a VW estate for a year with no luck so decided to try a part exchange. With a looming monstrous global recession being heavily forecast the second hand car dealer was only too pleased to see my very low mileage oil burning VW estate as much as I was to get rid of the hateful thing and go home in a 5.5l SL.
Driving back from Chester to Kent I got just over 30mpg at motorway speeds and the comfort and fun levels were sky high.
It had an mot advisory about split front ABC suspension covers and the doom mongers on the boards were throwing high numbers around for repair costs. I took it down to my Merc specialist and he said my 36500 mile purchase with fmsh was in top condition. On a well known auction site I bought the covers for £69 each, well below suggestions of £1,000 plus. If I need to replace the suspension there’s a company in Germany who will repair each corner for £469 delivered! The mind blowing cornering ability of the ABC makes that worth the chance.
It’s due a b service at end of July but because of its very low mileage and pristine service history I’m not sweating over the cost, especially as I’m using my Mercedes specialist.
I love this car so much that I actually feel guilty not taking the older one out so much and next week we’re off to the South France in it and I can’t wait.
My boot doesn’t leak in the rain or when washed, it’s fairly economical, not bad to insure and considering what it is won’t c****** me in servicing costs. As reviewers all say, try and avoid pre2006 facelift as the newer one is much better built.
Swapping an oil burning VW estate for this and parting with a small amount of cash was the best deal I’ve done all year. If you like these cars go for 2006-2007, with lots of history and find a good merc specialist to keep it in top condition without top costs. The only problem you’ll turn have is finding excuses not to use it. I’m not a wealthy individual I just know how to search for value.

Report as offensive

1
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2020
3
reviewed by N Whitson on 28 October 2017
3
reviewed by Naldo on 5 October 2017
5
reviewed by Flak-Magnet on 30 August 2014
3
reviewed by nicholask on 12 February 2012
3
reviewed by JSMB on 22 May 2010

Write your review

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car