Mercedes-Benz SL-Class (2002 - 2008)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 24 July 2021
5
reviewed by Nick Simpson on 9 February 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 July 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 5 June 2020
3
reviewed by N Whitson on 28 October 2017
3
reviewed by Naldo on 5 October 2017
5
reviewed by Flak-Magnet on 30 August 2014
3
reviewed by nicholask on 12 February 2012
3

SL500

reviewed by JSMB on 22 May 2010
3
Overall rating
5
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
1
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
2
Overall reliability

Great to drive but so many expensive problems

I bought my SL500 after owning an SL350 for 2 years. The 350 was "underpowered" for the weight of the car, the 500 was significantly better and really good to drive.
However, just like the 350 the 500 had a chronic boot leak due to the inherent poor design of the boot seals below the rear window. The 350 was repaired twice under warranty and the 500 THREE times, the last time was not under warranty and Mercedes refused to make any contribution towards the repair.
Mercedes refuse to acknowledge that their design is a problem and, as my local dealer confirmed, prefer to pay for repairs under warranty before "disowning" the problem.
BEWARE - THE NEW SHAPE SL's STILL HAVE THE SAME DESIGN FAULT.
Over the 3 years I owned the 500 (20,000 to 53,000 miles) the catalytic converter failed and the front suspension strut failed twice. I aslo completely lost power on the motorway when the driveshaft sensor failed and automatically put the car into netral.
All in all, not good for such an expensive car and I have now sold it and bought a Mini Cooper convertible!!

Report as offensive

Write your review

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Arturas Skirzgilas
 

Value my car