Do you have a minute to answer an electric vehicle survey? Start the survey | No thanks

Ford Mondeo Estate (2015 on)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 October 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 August 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 11 May 2019
4

2.0TDCi 180ps Titanium X-Pack 5dr Estate

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 13 June 2018
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Mile Muncher

I bought this car used at around 8 months old in 2016 with 17,000 miles on the clock from a local car supermarket.

The car was bought to be added to the fleet of many cars I own as part of a family run taxi business.

I kept the car for 18 months and in that short period of time I added 45.000 miles taking the total odometer reading to 62.000 miles, in which time the car was faultless. I would have kept the car longer however fancied going back to a Mercedes-Benz.

During my 18 months with the Mondeo I found out just how good a long distance cruiser you can get without paying for a premium badge.
It is an extremely comfortable, quiet car to travel in and although it cannot beat the posh cars for comfort it comes pretty close, the Mondeo is at its happiest at 70 miles an hour on a long journey on the motorway.

The £30 a year road tax keeps my wallet happy!

Another selling point to the Mondeo Estate is the capacity of the boot. Easily one of the largest of any cars I have owned.

Being the Mondeo 180 it is very fast as well. I test drove and originally planned on buying the lower powered 150 however it felt a little too slow for my needs.
The 180 though is very fast and responsive for a diesel.

Are there any drawbacks to the Mondeo?

The interior is where I shall start. It is in no means bad, but looking at some rivals it is not the best in class. As Honest says, some drabby black plastics around the place. Also the satellite navigation touchscreen can be slow and laggy from time to time.

Another gripe I have with the Ford Mondeo is that it does not get anywhere near the claimed 65+ miles per gallon. I drive where this car should do best, on the motorway and the best figure I see is around 48-54. In fairness for a large 180 horsepower estate not bad, I just wish Ford weren’t so over optimistic with their economy claims - They aren’t the only ones in fairness.

But overall the Ford Mondeo is a spacious, comfortable, durable long distance cruiser and is one of the best working class estate cars. So for that reason I would definitely recommend the Ford Mondeo.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Clive Robertson on 23 May 2018
5
reviewed by Stan Oakey on 5 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 April 2017
5
reviewed by Yonderend on 28 July 2016
4
reviewed by BigBobC on 16 July 2016

Write your review

About this car

Price£27,145–£28,545
Road TaxA–I
MPG37.2–74.3 mpg
Real MPG76.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Roarke
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Mavali
 

Value my car