Car park bump - being charged - shami the hamster
Just worried and just need some advice.

Received a letter from the police about an incident a few days ago. The letter is entitled "requirement to provide name and address of driver section
172 road traffic act" and is saying that I have committed the following offences
es:Driving without due care, failure to stop and report a collision.

I am gutted as I am a very careful driver, driving for 11 years and never
had a single accident or speeding fine.

I was reversing out of my car parking space uphill at a very cramped car
park at a tesco express when I accidentally bumped the car parked behind me.

My sister in law, who was also parked in the car park, got out of her car to
see if there was any damage. She noticed a very small scratch on the car. I
decided to write a note with my contact details and place it on the windscreen
of the car, as there was no sign of the owner returning at that time.
Unfortunately i could not find a pen or paper to do that with?

I was parked diagonally in the middle at the car park and was blocking every
body coming in and everybody going out. There was a huge queue of cars going
up the hill trying to enter the car park. I decided to exit the car park an
d left my car parked outside on the road. I had to park on the yellow lines to do
this and left my hazard warning lights on. However I had my 12 month
d baby in the car with me who was screaming hungrily and so I could not safely
leave on his own for more than a couple of minutes. I went back into the car park to trying to decide what to do as I still haven't found a pen or paper. I spoke to my sister-in-law but she was now blocking everybody entering the car park as well (she had two toddlers in the back of her car so couldn't leave to get a pen and paper either). I was hoping the owner of the car would have come out of Tesco express by now but they hadn't and I had no idea what to do.