impending vosa driving hours fine - capthooky
hi there everyone,to cut along story short vosa came to my place of work for spot inspection and digicard download unluckly for me found in a month i had drove longer than 4.5 hrs on 4 occasions before having a break approx half and one hour after 4.5 hrs ,after being cautioned and making a statement to vosa i have now been summed to court next month,all ive had in 20 years is a sp 30 speeding fine ,what can i expect if it is a large fine can i do community service instead,i drive a truck for a living hence i am not well off,all for stopping for dinner a bit later than i should of.anyone been here before..........
impending vosa driving hours fine - gordonbennet
I don't know what the sentence will be, i'd be more worried about the Licencing Authority chairman when you come to renew your vocational licence, he may take a dim view.

I'd be inclined to grovel like billio and buy a 'tachtrak' to take with you to court and show the magistrates that you are taking this extremely seriously, they will.

Your company will be in hot water for allowing such regular overhours driving and not having disciplinary procedures in place for breaches of regulations.

Are you in the union? if so contact them pronto to get some legal representation.

Hopefully Pat (pda) will see your post and offer some better advice, otherwise if you are not in the union it may be prudent to post on 'trucknet' or 'PDA' and see if anyone there could point you to a good transport solicitor.
impending vosa driving hours fine - Dipstick
Quick google yields the sentencing guidelines for tacho offences.

Looks like it's a band B fine for the driver, no points. Fine starts at 100% of weekly income, with a range of 75% to 125% once mitigating or aggravating circumstances are taken into account.