Corolla 1.4 engine - jus
i am thinking of getting a new corolla in the near future. Has anyone had any experience with the 1.4 engine? Has it got enough power or is the 1.6 the better option? Economy is quite important to me.

Jus
Corolla 1.4 engine - DavidHM
But diesels aren't?
Corolla 1.4 engine - jus
Well I suppose a diesel might be an option but it wasn't my first thought.

Jus
How many miles a year do you do? Fuel economy is a nice thing to have but if you're not a cab driver or the like, it's nowhere near as important as depreciation.

Having said that, there is roughly a £1300 premium for the Corolla diesel over the petrol 1.4 at www.ukcarbroker.co.uk/toyotapricesmastercopy.htm so you may be better off financially with the petrol.

I'm afraid I have no experience of the car though, although there are a couple of Corolla owners on here. They tend to have 1.6 litre versions, although if you're an especially gentle driver I guess the 1.4 would do you fine.

Corolla 1.4 engine - arnold2
I've got a (old shape) Corolla with the 1.4 vvti - very nice engine - below 3500rpm it is in 'fuel economy' mode - I get over 43mpg out of it on mixed driving, or rev it over 3500rpm for some jollies - it actually accelerates pretty well. The new Corolla is a much nicer car to drive, too, than my old one. Since the Toyota Corolla diesel only does about 48mpg combined, you would have to do some driving to make up the miles. Oh - the reliablity is great, too - mine is now 2.5 years old and has covered 90,000 miles, and the economy is still as good - plus I haven't had one mechanical problem. Only minus point on mine and the new Corolla's - they need a sixth gear for motorway cruising...
Corolla 1.4 engine - jus
I only do between 8-10,000 miles a year and most of it is local short trips. I currently have an R reg fiesta 1.25 LX which is a nice drive around town but I find it uncomfortble for even slightly longer trips.