Audi A6 - Car Quality - postie1

Car carpet. One area that really bugs me is the quality of carpets in cars.

Cars don’t use a massive amount of carpet for their flooring, but the quality of carpet in the cars can range from really good in Volvo, Audi or Range Rover to poor quality in Kia's, Renault & Ford

Now if the quality of carpeting comes down to price, i really can’t see the price differential being massive between both for a certain meterage.

I clean cars for a living & the difference is just crazy. Things easily get woven into the fabric on the poor quality vehicles which in turn can soon change the look of a carpet into a woolly jumper look.

The better quality carpets, it matter not what goes on them to a degree as the fibre is much better.

So why can’t these car companies either upgrade the carpet & charge an extra few pound which means better quality looking cars carpet wise for longer or give the customer an option to upgrade on purchase like they do for colour, air con & all the add-ons.

Audi A6 - Car Quality - bazza

Because cars are mass produced items in a very highly cost competitive environment, pence or cents saved per car amount to huge savings long term. You pay a premium for an Audi A6 and the customer expectation is for decent quality carpets, quite rightly. Cheaper cars will have savings in these areas, for example my last Octavia's trim was very poor in the carpet and seat fabric areas. But to a large extent, one get what one pays for!

You are right re- mass produced items in a very highly cost competitive environment.

However why cant a customer get an option for an add on if they so wish.

Audi A6 - Car Quality - badbusdriver