Skoda Superb Estate (2010 - 2015)

5
reviewed by vor60 on 7 March 2020
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 23 October 2018
5
reviewed by ALAN J WILSON on 7 March 2018
5
reviewed by vor60 on 7 October 2017
4
reviewed by Barry Edwards on 3 March 2017
5
reviewed by drascombe on 26 January 2015
5
reviewed by 2Dogs on 16 October 2014
5
reviewed by 100andthirty on 28 August 2014
4
reviewed by herrbohnen on 25 June 2014
5
reviewed by valicourt on 3 February 2014
5
reviewed by mmalpass on 28 October 2013
5
reviewed by sussexprc on 22 August 2013
3
reviewed by shayshay on 23 May 2013
5
reviewed by antony3086 on 1 February 2013
3
reviewed by brt on 24 January 2013
4
reviewed by Ed_Moses on 24 December 2012
2

Elegance 2.0 TDI CR 5dr Estate

reviewed by Mrbluesky on 25 June 2012
2
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
3
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

A sensible and understated car with AWFUL Drivers Seats (in full leather)!

I bought this car to replace my BMW 525d which was 57 plate and nearing 100k. It was a saloon and although it was the best car I have ever had, it was time to change. With an eye on the eye watering service costs, along with mixture of 'growing family' and bordem prompted the switch. Estate was the way forward and much depended upon how much I could achieve in PX for the BMW. I tried the Audi A6, Volvo V70, Mondeo estate, and even the 'sorry we are only appointment here sir' Mercedes garage (yes thats right...you need to BOOK an appointment to see a Merc Salesman these days!) none of which really hit the mark. The superb was a wildcard and my what a wildcard. I bought ours with 11k, remainder of three years warranty, two services, and a dealer experience second to none. I have already recommended two friends to the Simpsons dealership in Preston who have also bought cars. The Superb is as practical and comfortable a car as you could want. Granted the seats have taken some getting used to from the armchairs i had in the BMW, but in the round, the pro's far outweigh the cons.

I am hoping that the cost of the routiene maintenance will be easier on the family purse than that of the BMW - but so far so good. Not many estates on the road and with the 170bhp engine, its good for a bit of fun too. Children (4 and 1.5) love the space and the 'smell'.

UPDATE 17/6/12 - rating down graded due to severe seating discomfort.

Although the car is as good as anything anywhere else on the market and even though it is loaded with kit, it and I are about to part company!

The drivers seat is AWFUL! Long journeys filled me with dread as the pain in my coccyx was incredible. There was no give whatsoever from the Golf sourced leather seats. I have tried many other seats (Tiguan, Passat, Rav 4, Avensis) all of which proved much more comfortable and acceptable to my lower back. Depreciation whacked me a bit...but what cost your spine!

Great car let down by the seats.

I am 6ft, 14st and can honestly say that the drivers seat in the Superb needs to be thrown away and replaced with a solid wood chair to increase its comfort rating 100%!

In short, before you commit, take a good long test drive... and take a cushion from the lounge with you and if you do buy one, make sure it has either fabric upholstery or if you must have leather, opt for the half leather and absolutely definately not the full leather...you will absolutely live to regret it.

Now driving Avensis Tourer 2.0 D4D ... which is sooooo much more comfortable!

Report as offensive

2
reviewed by Mercian on 22 June 2012
1
reviewed by David27 on 4 July 2010
5
reviewed by DavidM40 on 30 June 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£18,190–£34,705
Road TaxC–L
MPG27.7–65.7 mpg
Real MPG90.2%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by james VV
5
submitted by William Bound
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car