Audi A4 (2015 on)

3
reviewed by John Brehcist on 4 September 2021
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 13 June 2020
4
reviewed by lee vincent pestell on 9 May 2020
4

A4 tdi 150 (35) Black Edition STronic 4 dr

reviewed by Doris & Boris on 9 November 2019
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Cheap to run for a 100 mile daily commute

Purchased cheaply as I needed a commuter vehicle; got a good deal as it was an April '19 built vehicle that had been hanging around.

Whats good;
Solidly built and no rattles or squeaks from the interior!
48 - 52mpg on BP Ultimate, working out at 13ppm in diesel overall - currently at 7000 miles since purchase.
Comfortable to drive
Effortless for long distances.
Looks neutral enough for clients to see - doesn't look flash, trash or broke, all of which are important in my line of work!
Surprisingly good sounding standard ICE/speakers
Variety of displays to be had between the main screen and the cockpit screen.

Whats not so good..

I've never driven a DSG transmission before (all torque converter or manual) and it is a little different; it does hesitate at times and unexpectedly, so you learn to drive to that quirk. I would always cover the brake pedal with your left foot when slow speed manoevering for parking.
Its front wheel drive and always feels like its understeering slightly, but this may be a feature of the steering feel rather than the chassis.

Seemed to have quite a thirst for AdBlue initially, but I am told that Audi only partially fill the tank from the factory and given the very low use / stop start mileage mine had as a stock vehicle for a long time, higher consumption is to be expected. Filling the AdBlue tank is an easy task and branded Adblue can be had for under £10.00 for a 10 litre container.
The lower spec' 35/150hp engine is sufficient for city and motorway use, right up until you need a rapid overtake on a two lane A road; my advice, wait and get there in one piece if in any doubt, as it is in no way fast...
Strangely penny pinching spec'; Auto LED headlights but fog lights blanked out - they are extras; no seatback storage nets; etc, etc
Very pretty 19" "Tomahawk" grey wheels that you live in fear of kerbing (I haven't yet) and very firm ride which on the pockmarked and under construction roads I am on five days a week are not the most comfortable.
Apple CarPlay seems to be below standard for some reason; in another family vehicle, using the same 'phones, CarPlay is flawless. In this A4, it drops out crashes, freezes and generally misbehaves and I haven't resolved it - yet.
Otherwise - I purchased it to run it for two years / 60,000+ miles and move it on after that and I am of the opinion I havent made a bad decision. Its actually my first Audi after many years in various Mercedes and I am impressed.

Report as offensive

2
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 October 2019
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 10 October 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 30 July 2019
1
reviewed by carfan1 on 30 April 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 27 October 2018

Write your review

About this car

Price£32,145–£49,500
Road TaxA–J
MPG37.7–74.3 mpg
Real MPG75.3%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by paul sikora
 

Value my car