Audi A4 (2005 - 2008)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 February 2019
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 16 August 2018
1
reviewed by Vlad-Bogdan on 21 August 2017
4
reviewed by Molnboman on 1 August 2016
1
reviewed by AliMac on 12 December 2015
5

3L. Quattro Auto Saloon

reviewed by GK-A4 on 21 January 2015
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Serious Q-car

Bought it in Aug2012 at 66,000, now coming up for 110,000 service next week. Always serviced at local independent (North Jesmond Garage - Bosch Good Garage scheme) who do a cracking job :-) Audi main dealer only used for minor parts & advice but very helpful whenever I've been in. Originally set for 'auto' servicing but switched it every 10k (I do c. 25k pa).

New set of winter tyres (BFG G-Force Winter) soon after purchase (based up in Northumberland;-) which are still actually going fine c. 40k miles later (honestly!) Till recently, no major expenses, but May2013 some i**** rear-ends me in stop-start traffic on A1 afternoon-commute. My bumper creased/spare-wheel-well dented/exhaust shunted + tips-bent - but still managed to drive home c. 40miles before sorting repairs (her whole front end was caved in and needed towing away). Repairs sorted via insurance (finally) to a high standard via Jobling of Sunderland.

Have since fitted dashcams front & rear both to look out for future 'genuine' accidents and also guard against these increasing 'crash for cash' scammers.

Then in April this year the CEL came on & dreaded P2008 error (intake flap manifolds etc :-( Luckily, ECU removal/diagnosis via specialist, it turns out that it was just the earth leading out to manifold flap-motors (I believe) which then re-made / all cleaned/refitted & works perfectly again. Apart from that no major outlay apart from usual oils/filters/timing belt (luckily has a chain-driven cambelt). Have fitted a tuning-kit which (allied to sensible right foot & regular use of paddles ;-) means I'm now regularly returning 42-44mpg ('real' mileage - tank brimmed off & then mileage-per-tank used) which for a 110k 3L Auto Quattro in mixture of 70 (motorway) / 20 (urban) / 10 (hilly rural) isn't too shoddy, I think?

Boot is massive (though seats don't fold down), leather/build-quality/cruise/ride-quality among the best I've had (and I've been through a few cars;-) Hasn't got sat-nav (have own Garmin anyway) but seamless 6-speed auto inc paddles & 233bhp make up for that.

Have labelled it a Q-car as I reckon it's quietly understated/smart (maybe too much so, sometime, unfortunately inviting chavs to often 'have a go' at roundabouts or tailgating/cutting in) - but when (the fancy takes me and) I put my foot down (Sport mode or not) it sure 'shifts' & said chavs sit there dribbling, wide-eyed....

Tax of £285, insurance same (protected full NCB 10yrs+, no points) - worth it

Basically planning to keep it till something major goes 'bang' as within my budget, don't think I'll be able to find something that's so comfy/fast/understated/(largely) reliable/economical/capable of going up/down ice/snow-covered hills.

Great car.

Update 21/1/15
------------------

Irregular rumbling plus slow pressure-loss in OSR tyre traced to a) bald-patch on tread and b) cuts to inner-wall. Reckon down to pesky potholes here in Northumberland - probably due to be changed anyway as tread down to 2-3mm. Set of 4x Winter tyres duly ordered/fitted & already proved their worth powering up local steep hill in snow/ice :-)

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Pokey on 14 January 2014
3
reviewed by Iain1234123 on 5 October 2012
1
reviewed by mm707 on 20 May 2011
3
reviewed by JohntyG on 7 November 2010
3
reviewed by richo on 5 August 2010
4
reviewed by TICKENHAMTIGER on 2 July 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£19,925–£30,075
Road TaxG–L
MPG26.4–51.5 mpg
Real MPG94.5%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
3
submitted by John Brehcist
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car