Overfilling the engine oil - Nev
You are told never to overfill the engine oil but I am unsure what problems it causes if you do.

A friend has just had his 2001 VW Golf 1.6 serviced by the VW main dealer and it shows the oil level about 8mm over the max level. He contacted the garage who just shrugged and said don't worry.

Is the garage right or should he drain some out. He is a pensioner and so does not use the car that regularly.

Any thoughts

Nev
Overfilling the engine oil - carlh
I'm no expert but I believe it's possible that it could damage the catalytic convertor. 8mm over max seems quite a lot more.
Overfilling the engine oil - Mikey Jay
Overfilling the engine with oil does matter. Of course it is a question of degree. If the engine is severely overfilled it can blow up. It causes something called windage where the crankshaft froths up the oil. I believe that an overfilled sump also increases the crankase pressure and puts a strain on the oil seals. I am not an expert on this subject but some garages overfill engines,accidentally one hopes. If it is severe it is best to drain some out. A friend of mine has used a bilge pump to extract oil via the dip stick aperture.I dont know whether 8mm in Nev's case matters, but he is right to point it out to the garage and even take it up with VW technical dept. I would write a short letter to the garage manager. This could cover you if anything went wrong later. Might be difficult to prove it was the garage's fault, if engine damage did occur. Best wishes, Mike
Overfilling the engine oil - Sooty Tailpipes