Toyota Yaris (2006 - 2011)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 September 2021
5
reviewed by Peter Horner on 16 July 2021
5
reviewed by Andrew Brookes on 15 June 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 May 2021
4
reviewed by Nicholas Wills on 13 April 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 14 November 2019
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 31 May 2019
5
reviewed by Paul Ryan on 20 March 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 February 2018
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 18 February 2018
4
reviewed by Terrence Farrall on 12 August 2017
5
reviewed by radders112 on 12 May 2016
5
reviewed by galileo on 10 December 2015
3
reviewed by isvana on 20 August 2015
5
reviewed by teric on 1 May 2015
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 9 January 2015
5
reviewed by Jetset on 6 January 2015
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 17 October 2014
4
reviewed by noor on 17 July 2014
5
reviewed by newb on 14 June 2014
5
reviewed by Motters on 1 May 2014
4
reviewed by Bantamspaul on 14 March 2013
2
reviewed by vincentodon on 20 December 2011
4
reviewed by ahud on 1 April 2011
3
reviewed by Miraflores on 9 March 2011
4

T3 1.3 VVT-i 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by mr ol'skool on 14 February 2011
4
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
2
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
2
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

A versatile compact car

I bought this after downsizing from a very expensive to run PT Cruiser, which I dearly miss but its running cost were too costly especially after moving to a rural location where every trip was at least 25miles or so it seemed.

The Yaris was bought on advice from Honest John and all I can say is what good advice it has been.

I bought it used from a local Toyota dealer with Toyota's own extd warranty on it and paid for the extra year after this expired from the dealer.

It was recalled and fixed speedily somewhat of a contrast to the unexpected wait I had to endure for a new water pump and aux drive belt fitted under warranty, the parts needed did'nt arrive until 4 days later but I had a'loan' car that I paid insurance for to keep me mobile.

Overall it always does 50mpg road tax is lower than my PT, insurance reasonable and this compact car does what it should even taking us to France and northern Scotland on holiday without a hitch.

Some minor problems have arisen like the difficulty in replacing a headlamp bulb without having to dismantle most of the front of the car as I don't have hands that bend in all directions to get to the lamp cluster either to remove it fully to fit the bulb or access it in situ, unless you remove the inner wheelarch liner and do it from underneath !

Not very practical when you have to carry spare bulbs as required in France!
Bad marks to Toyota for that !

I supose most newer cars are similar to this, oh for the old days of 7" round lamps fitted from the front !!! That's progress.

Servicing is once a year with a 6mth regular oil & filter change as its cheap for me to do.

Had to fit new tyres after the OE fronts expired at 48K and the rears at 56K from new.

Quality is good, fit & finish high and std features acceptable but I'd like more kit if I had a choice when buying new, can't afford to do that.

I'd certainly have another one but I'd like more ooommppphh and driveability from it but better economy, maybe the D4 would be better ?

Overall a great little car, but now showing its age a bit compared to the new kids on the block that have more equipment and even better economy, a big factor for me living in a rural area.

I'm looking to trade it in soon-ish cand try to get a 1-2 year old car ( £10K limit or less ) of a similar size but with improved economy and lower or nil VED, any suggestions ?

Report as offensive

3
reviewed by cracalt on 28 November 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£7,995–£15,625
Road TaxB–H
MPG39.2–68.9 mpg
Real MPG91.8%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
1
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car