What kind of chemistry do you have with your car? Love it? Loathe it? Let us know and you could win a £300 John Lewis voucher | No thanks

Toyota iQ 2008

5
reviewed by steve hollyhead on 20 May 2018
4
reviewed by Richard1964 on 20 November 2016
1
reviewed by Peter Freeman on 20 September 2016
5
reviewed by alz69er on 12 July 2016
4

2 1.0 VVT-i 68 3dr Hatchback

reviewed by MarkDP on 18 August 2015
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
2
Experience at the dealership
3
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Nippy but vibrates more than a magic wand!

On the outside, the iQ looks small and you wonder how you are able to do anything with it.

Once you climb inside, you feel that the car is like the tardis and has much more space than is seen from the outside.

Having the lack of a glovebox is soon forgotten and the passenger has so much legroom that they can actually put their feet on the dash when being chauffeured around.

The radio is in an odd position and is only controllable by the driver. So far I have been unsuccessful in removing old radio stations from BBC Devon.

This little car can tackle hills especially some of the hills in the Lake District, but you will need to drop down to 2nd or even 1st for those hills that have a big incline.

Fuel economy, I'm happy with it. I have managed to do 401 miles on my daily commute to work, I refilled the car after two weeks which is great for me.

Overall, if you want a small car with limited bootspace (rear seats do drop down so you can fit in a lawnmower and other bits) and want great fuel economy with no VED. This could be the car for you.

But.... At 2000 revs, the car vibrates like mad and sometimes its that bad you cannot see anything in the rear view mirror.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by CleanUpCars on 7 June 2015
1
reviewed by bananaman on 29 May 2015
4
reviewed by Darryl_uk on 16 October 2014
5
reviewed by xtrailmike on 14 February 2014
4
reviewed by dd1 on 6 February 2014
5
reviewed by countertenor on 11 March 2013
3
reviewed by Jeremy 123 on 25 October 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£11,100–£14,100
Road TaxA–C
MPG54.3–65.7 mpg
Real MPG85.2%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car