Toyota iQ (2008 - 2014)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 1 November 2019
5
reviewed by steve hollyhead on 20 May 2018
4
reviewed by Richard1964 on 20 November 2016
1
reviewed by Peter Freeman on 20 September 2016
5
reviewed by alz69er on 12 July 2016
4
reviewed by MarkDP on 18 August 2015
5
reviewed by CleanUpCars on 7 June 2015
1
reviewed by bananaman on 29 May 2015
4
reviewed by Darryl_uk on 16 October 2014
5

2 1.0 VVT-i 3dr Hatchback

reviewed by xtrailmike on 14 February 2014
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
5
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Brilliant small car

This is our first Toyota and first city car which we occasionally tow behind our motorhome and use regularly to run around locally, shopping etc. We bought the basic model - no frills like satnav but it has everything that we need - good radio/cd player easily controlled from the steering wheel, aircon, electric windows and electric mirrors and it fits in the garage with room to spare.
My criticisms are:
Not a lot of stowage space for "stuff". No glove box and boot under floor stash area in the rear is very small. You just get door bins really.
Vision from the rear passenger quarter is restricted.
Have yet to try the puncture repair kit (no spare) and think I will call the RAC if I have a flat.

The IQ carries 2 tall adults and a dog very comfortably and reliably. In almost 4 years of ownership nothing has gone wrong. It returns about 55mpg most days and I do not drive it like a nun. It hugs the road and is a delight to drive - turning circle is amazing. I like the uncluttered interior. It has nine air bags and a great crash test rating.
Although the local Toyota dealer ain't cheap and is full of expensive suits they do an ok job and the two recalls have been handled very efficiently. I have taken out a service plan to keep the costs fixed and predictable - they are happy to pick the car up and offer a loan car if wanted. Good service as I live 14 miles away.
If you just want a small car for two people put the IQ on your short list and at least enjoy a test drive. We love our IQ and certainly have no plans to replace it any time soon.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by dd1 on 6 February 2014
5
reviewed by countertenor on 11 March 2013
3
reviewed by Jeremy 123 on 25 October 2012

Write your review

About this car

Price£11,100–£14,100
Road TaxA–C
MPG54.3–65.7 mpg
Real MPG85.0%

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by David Mowatt
4
submitted by Anonymous
 

Ask Honest John

Value my car