Toyota Auris (2007 - 2013)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 July 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2021
5
reviewed by dennis andrew on 22 November 2019
3

TR 2.0 D-4D 5dr Hatchback

reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 31 May 2018
3
Overall rating
3
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
3
How you rate the manufacturer
3
Overall reliability

Average Hatchback

I bought this car for my wife in 2011 with 50.000 miles on it.

I have to say, over the 35.000 miles she added too it, it was reliable but not as reliable as the Toyota badge would lead you to believe. Having owned several Toyotas overall I’d give them 4/5 for reliability - but my Auris scores lower at 3/5, due to several niggles I wouldn’t expect from a Japanese car at fairly low/average miles.

Firstly at the MOT at around 65.000 miles the car needed new suspension rubber bushes and a new break pipe as the old one was corroded.
Then the final issue arrived at 85.000 when needed a new coil spring.
The car also struggled to start in winter at around 85.000 miles - taking two or three attempts. But it still started and we would’ve got the issue addressed but traded the car in for a Kia Sportage.

All in all not too bad for an old-ish diesel hatchback but I expected slightly more from a Toyota, having owned German and even French cars which have had less faults.

To drive, the Auris is very dull in comparison to other cars I’ve owned such as the Renault Clio, Ford Fiesta and even Peugeot 206. The mpg is okay for a 2000cc diesel at around 49, but nothing like what I got from the other hatchbacks and even big German saloons.

It’s fairly comfortable but could be better. And the interior feels a bit cheap - with the odd rattle or squeak. But it is quite a practical hatchback with a good enough sized boot.

I think overall the Auris is an acceptable car, it doesn’t do much wrong but rivals just seem superior overall.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by Roy Britton on 2 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anthony13 on 4 October 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 August 2017
3
reviewed by David Cotter on 20 August 2016
5
reviewed by 7omly on 5 November 2015
2
reviewed by A M Malik on 12 April 2015
4
reviewed by colinh on 18 February 2015
4
reviewed by GranTurismo on 30 August 2014
4
reviewed by Tuckshop on 4 June 2014
3
reviewed by eagleeye on 30 March 2014
5
reviewed by smitham on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Bloodstain on 23 January 2014
3
reviewed by RunningInPleasePass on 6 January 2014
5
reviewed by Auristocrat on 5 November 2012
5
reviewed by leonora on 15 May 2012
4
reviewed by colinh on 19 February 2012
4
reviewed by sandy56 on 6 February 2012
3
reviewed by Norvass on 1 January 2012
4
reviewed by rogthegog on 18 June 2011
2
reviewed by pheasant on 17 May 2011
2
reviewed by pheasant on 17 May 2011
3
reviewed by rohill on 9 March 2011
2
reviewed by tomgarvie on 20 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,505–£28,395
Road TaxA–H
MPG39.8–74.3 mpg
Real MPG83.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car