Toyota Auris (2007 - 2013)

5
reviewed by Anonymous on 15 July 2021
4
reviewed by Anonymous on 7 February 2021
5
reviewed by dennis andrew on 22 November 2019
3
reviewed by Jonathan Pickard on 31 May 2018
5
reviewed by Roy Britton on 2 April 2018
4
reviewed by Anthony13 on 4 October 2017
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 2 August 2017
3
reviewed by David Cotter on 20 August 2016
5
reviewed by 7omly on 5 November 2015
2
reviewed by A M Malik on 12 April 2015
4
reviewed by colinh on 18 February 2015
4

SR180

reviewed by GranTurismo on 30 August 2014
4
Overall rating
4
How it drives
3
Fuel economy
3
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
3
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
4
How practical it is
4
How you rate the manufacturer
4
Overall reliability

Sporty, comfy & manages everything I ask of it - plus still gets admiring glances from 5 door owners .....

I bought this car for 3 reasons ; I wanted a newer car, I wanted more MPG, lastly I just liked the look of it in sporty 3 door guise !

I've had this Auris for 4 months now & have become used to it's way of driving. My first impressions of it being smooth, quiet & torquey have been maintained & I love the way it looks. It has all the toys I look for in a car - Climate Control, alloys, usual electrics, nice colour, decent stereo, etc. The suspension is at a sporty ride height but a little soft for my liking. That said it makes light work of badly surfaced roads so that's fine by me. Performance is very good from 3rd gear upwards, pulling strongly. But it does seem to be heavily restricted in 1st & 2nd - perhaps deliberately with such strong torque figures (295 lbs/ft). Comfort is very good, it's easy to get settled in & arrive still feeling fresh. The interior plastics are a little disappointing, but perfectly acceptable & everything works as it should.

I had hoped to keep it for about 3-4 years, but having joined the Toyota Owners Club/Forum I've been dismayed to find that the SR/T180 series has been plagued with a history of common problems. So whether I keep it depends on whether those omens happen to my car or not . . . . .

For anyone thinking of buying one of these models used, consider this - the manual versions have a Dual Mass Flywheel which can go anywhere between 60-100k mls & it's very expensive to replace (£1600). They also have a Diesel Particulate Filter which is great for getting rid of those nasty pollutants, but not so great when they clog up & fail (replacement quoted as £1900) - potentially leaving nasty deposits of carbon on the pistons. The Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve has also been a regular source of woe for many, adding to the failed particulate filter problem. Head gaskets have been reported as failing because of both these issues. Toyota has acknowledged the last topic & extended the warranty to 112k mls (with terms & conditions) - a very generous offer on the face of it. But should these problems be existing on such a large scale, especially from a manufacturer with a solid image of quality ?

Okay - it's now almost Sept 2014 and time for a little update.

I've still got this car and i intend to keep it until next year, when a lower annual mileage will prompt a change for a petrol engine and something a little newer.
Other than normal wear and tear items (tyres, brakes, wipers), the Auris has needed nothing more than regular servicing. I've done this at the local'ish Toyota dealer to keep up the service history. Across country on B-roads and some main trunk routes it's averaging 42 MPG and any dual carriageway trips can raise that easily. Not bad for a car with more torque than a Focus ST !

The Toyota forum has been a source of help and interest, so comes much recommended.

Report as offensive

4
reviewed by Tuckshop on 4 June 2014
3
reviewed by eagleeye on 30 March 2014
5
reviewed by smitham on 23 January 2014
5
reviewed by Bloodstain on 23 January 2014
3
reviewed by RunningInPleasePass on 6 January 2014
5
reviewed by Auristocrat on 5 November 2012
5
reviewed by leonora on 15 May 2012
4
reviewed by colinh on 19 February 2012
4
reviewed by sandy56 on 6 February 2012
3
reviewed by Norvass on 1 January 2012
4
reviewed by rogthegog on 18 June 2011
2
reviewed by pheasant on 17 May 2011
2
reviewed by pheasant on 17 May 2011
3
reviewed by rohill on 9 March 2011
2
reviewed by tomgarvie on 20 August 2010

Write your review

About this car

Price£12,505–£28,395
Road TaxA–H
MPG39.8–74.3 mpg
Real MPG83.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Anonymous
4
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by Anonymous
 

Value my car